One Size Fits Who?

As I was putting this on this morning, I caught sight of the size label in the skirt, and it made me think…why do we take so much notice of sizes?? I agree, knowing what size you are makes it easier to go into a shop, pick something up and trust that it fits. However, in a sale, the one item you want is never in your size! You grumble, search again, then walk out. How many of us actually try it on in a different size? I know often I assume that it’ll either be too small or too big, so don’t bother. I guess what I’m getting at, is that the skirt in the above picture is a size 12, and yet the T-Shirt is age 7-9!! Usually I would consider a size 8-10…..and yet, both these items fit me. Surely if sizes were consistent this wouldn’t be the case? I’ve noticed this before, especially in high-street stores that have both a women’s section and a children/teen’s section. Often, the largest size in the children’s section is actually bigger than the smallest women’s size! Is this a sign of changing attitudes towards body shape, i.e. there should be something for everyone….or are stores just making the most of the customers they usually attract? Probably both, but it does seem strange. I don’t expect an 8 yr old’s t-shirt to fit me at age 19!! Not that I’m really complaining, but when it occurs the other way round it doesn’t exactly help your body image or self confidence. I’ve more or less got to the point where I don’t look at sizes….if I see something I like, I’ll go and try it on, regardless of it being children’s, size 8, size 12 or size 16!

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

