Living a rainbow

What is it about the colours of a rainbow that we find so appealing? Put a random selection of colours together and it can be considered ‘too much’ or clashing….but put those 7 colours together and we seem to be attracted to it! Maybe it’s because it is natural…they occur together in nature, so our brains find it easier to process. A rainbow will never cease to make me smile 🙂 So, maybe that’s why I have always liked to wear colour…to make others smile.

Anyone who has ever seen my room will know that colour features very highly in my life…clothes, jewellery, pictures…I did a whole unit of GCSE Art based on rainbows!  But it’s not just the obvious things that can provide a smile…this brooch just looks pink and orange…but when I photographed it, the flash revealed a hidden gem – a rainbow. So maybe that is why we are drawn to them…an element of magic, perhaps?

Or, perhaps it is to do with how we perceive people with regards to colour. If someone always wears black, a certain character is assigned to them…in Victorian times, this would have been ‘in mourning’, nowadays, it is often different. Or, if a girl wears pink, they are seen as very girly. These are merely generalisations, and I know they don’t always hold true, but everyone has their own perceptions of what certain colours mean. If this is the case, what does that make me? Yes, I wear black, but then the next day I could wear pink, and the next, something completely different! Does this mean I am indecisive as to my character? Or could it be that my character is multi-faceted? Or, am I purely making excuses for being a little bit crazy? 😛

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living a rainbow

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I really like this – certainly got me thinking! xx

  2. ibc4 says:

    Once saw a double-rainbow. True story. Love the blog.

Leave a Reply

