‘You’re my favourite!’

Quick ‘Strictly’ reference there πŸ˜› But apt, nonetheless! Everyone has favourites…be it food, colours, clothes, or a pair of shoes. But are our reasons for these favourites all the same? I don’t think so…for example, if you asked me what my favourite piece of jewellery is, I’d struggle…some things I like because they were gifts, some remind me of holidays, others are just really pretty!! The same goes for clothes and shoes…and I’m sure it’s the same for everyone. I think a lot of the time we actually can’t choose a favourite, but when forced to choose a pair of shoes…these were some of the reasons given by me and my friends…

The ‘Old Friends’

When I first had these, about 6 or so years ago, I found them really uncomfortable – they rubbed, they kept falling off etc. – but at some point they eventually softened. But, it was at that point I think I went through the ends!! However, I continue to wear them, ‘cos now they are really comfy πŸ™‚ Also, they remind me of some good times: a trip to Berlin, family holidays, times with friends….the list is endless! My Dad is determined to throw them away, but so far they have evaded his cruelty πŸ˜›

The ‘Prom Shoes’

These are my friend’s prom shoes, and haven’t really been worn much since then (over a year ago!)…but that doesn’t matter. They are a constant reminder of the good times experienced throughout that year, and that specific evening. There is even some mud left on them from walking back home afterwards!! They are also something she is proud of, having shortened the elastic straps over the foot herself πŸ™‚

The ‘Beautiful Designer Shoes’

Less of a sentimental attachment with these, belonging to one of my housemates. Not the most practical shoes, nor have they been owned for very long, but they are certainly treasured. They are her first designer shoes, bought in Harrods…a wonderful thing for a shoe lover πŸ™‚ They do hold a memory too, a lovely day in London, finishing at the Ballet to see Swan Lake. Perfect πŸ™‚

The ‘Unusual Classics’

Another one of my housemates’ favourite pair of Converse. I don’t know how many pairs they have, but I’m not sure I’ve seen them wear anything other! These particular pair are special because they are comfy, but also not a usual design of Converse – they are a special edition (apparently :P). They are obviously nearly as well worn as mine (above), although only having been owned for about two years!

I think what shoes a person wears can say a lot about someone. But sometimes we wear what we wear for practicality, and what really represents us is saved for special occasions. This is especially true with heels. I own numerous pairs of high heels, many of which really sum up my character. However, I wear them only two or three times a year! When I do, though, they always make me smile πŸ™‚

So, what are your favourite shoes? And why?

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘You’re my favourite!’

  1. yeeeeed says:

    My shoes are sat in my room smiling (I can tell :-P!) at the fact they’ve got a mention and a picture tea hee!
    This entry just makes me smile from ear to ear! xx

  2. ibc4 says:

    My friend at the Royal Opera will be performing in Swan Lake in 2011. I must go and see it. Can’t wait to see Darren Aronovsky’s Black Swan, too. Love the Blog, Liza. Can I say how much I like the Beautiful Designer Shoes, as well πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

