Fashion talks

‘Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say and not giving a damn’ (Gore Vidal)

Every now and then I come across a quote that really strikes a chord with me, be it a comment on life in general or a certain circumstance. I started making a note of these quotes about 6 months ago, and regularly have a quick read through. It always puts me in a good frame of mind and makes me believe that anything is possible! Ok, so that sounds a little cheesy, but it’s true. Sometimes all it takes is for someone else to tell you what you already know, in order for you to believe it! This can be said about fashion too…or rather, about how you dress. Fashion is often seen as shallow, or ‘girly’…but I’d like to hope I’m neither of those, and yet I take a lot of care in the way I dress. I also think a lot can be achieved through the way clothes are put together…identifiability, getting a job, making friends etc. The following are just a few of my favourite quotes pertaining to ‘fashion’, and my representations of them 🙂

‘I’m just trying to change the world, one sequin at a time’ (Lady Gaga)

Something so small, an aim so huge…and yet I don’t question it. I guess it’s because with any large project you have to split it into smaller parts, so who is to say that a sequin can’t be the first step to changing the world? I love sequins too, I think I’m a bit of a ‘magpie’ at heart…I have loads of sequin belts! however, I don’t wear them much as it seems a bit OTT during the day, and evening events never seem quite right for appearing like a Christmas tree!! I really want to wear my red sequin dress for something but the opportunity hasn’t yet arisen…maybe I’ll have to pledge to change the world, one sequin dress at a time 😛

‘Clothes should be as interesting on the inside as on the outside. Even if you enjoy it totally alone, it’s important’ (Geoffrey Beene)

I like this, because it shares my opinion that you should dress for yourself, not anyone else, and certainly not solely for fashion. I wear what I want, and even if no-one sees me all day it wont stop me dressing up! I have also found that often clothes (jackets especially) have prettier linings than they appear on the outside, and yet, who sees them other than the wearer? This picture, for example, is the lining of the hood of a cardigan I have…much more interesting than the colour of the top itself (beige)…and yet, it’s only seen when the hood is down!

‘My favourite embellishment to add to an outfit is a smile!’ (Unknown)

I love this 🙂 A smile is guaranteed to brighten up any outfit, and is a sign of confidence in what you are wearing. My Mum always used to tell me that if you looked happy wearing something, no-one will question it. Whilst this isn’t always true, it certainly helped me establish my own style, and be more true to myself, no matter what anyone else would say. Back to the original quote however! I am one for over embellishing my outfits – why wear one necklace when you can wear three, for example! But saying that, sometimes jeans, a t-shirt and a smile can have more impact than all the jewellery and glitzy stuff you can carry! It won’t stop me having a room like Aladdin’s Cave though 😛

I’ll just leave you with a final thought:

‘Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.’ (Oscar Wilde)

What do you think? 🙂

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fashion talks

  1. yeeeeed says:

    Love the quote from Oscar Wilde and adore the photograph of your smiley face t.shirt, complements the quote perfectly 🙂 x x

  2. Lynne Barton says:

    Loving this Liza – a great recommendation for a Saturday morning read! Your thoughts – and your style are wonderfully individual….and the smiley tshirt pic is my favourite too! Go girl!x

  3. Lizzie says:

    This is so very true, I also chuckled at the Oscar Wilde quote, how right he is 🙂 Good stuff Liza 🙂

Leave a Reply

