A Collection of Charcoal Rainbows

A while ago I spent a lot of time designing clothes when I had nothing better to do. Actually, I probably did have something better to do…but never mind 😛 Most were completely impractical but then, I never had any intention of making them. Then, I found a competition which asked for a collection of 6-12 pieces, the winner of which would have their collection made. I knew I would never win, but thought it would be a personal challenge to try and link 6 or more outfits, make them new, unique and wearable. I’m not completely sure I achieved this, but I was quite proud of my efforts! Of course there are things I’d change if I was ever to make any of them….maybe one day 😛

Outfit 1 – Pinafore-style dress

Not sure how well the writing shows up on this…hopefully well enough for anyone interested to be able to read! I still really like this…I would definitely wear it! If I changed anything though, I’d make it a separate top and dress, rather than all in one – makes it more versatile! I reckon that it wouldn’t be too difficult to make this dress…it would just require a lot of beads and buttons!

Outfit 2 – Corset

Ok, so this isn’t very ‘new’…corsets have covered most colours, fabrics, styles etc…but it fitted in with the rest, and was more evening-wear than the previous design. I love corsets, but can’t wear them very easily (let’s just stay they don’t stay put :P)…but they can look really nice 🙂

Outfit 3 – The Jumpsuit

At the time of sketching these, I really (and I mean, REALLY) wanted a jumpsuit. However, as usual I was being picky and didn’t like any of the ones available! So, decided to design my own 😛 Would love to make this, but maybe when I’ve had a bit more practice!!

Outfit 4 – The Ball-gown

This is probably my favourite of all the designs…a beautiful full ball-gown, halterneck, low back, seven layers of rainbow netting….what more could you want?! I love dressing up for an event, usually more than the event itself! A dress which makes you feel special, or elegant is always amazing! If I ever managed to make this, it would be a miracle, but if I did, I hope it would be as special as I hoped 🙂

Outfit 5 – Slashed Dress

At the time, I really liked this, but less so now. I’m not sure what it is, but there is something that doesn’t quite work :/ I like the overall idea – the rainbow showing through gaps in the charcoal, but it just looks a bit like she’s been mauled by a wild animal!! Oh well…back to the drawing board!

Outfit 6 – Gypsy dress

Channelling my inner gypsy here I think! Again, something doesn’t quite work…maybe my blouse-drawing skills are lacking! I love the belt though…I have a plain black one in the same style which I adore wearing…makes my waist tiny 😛 A rainbow one would be amazing!! I know in the ‘blurb’ it says a dress, rather than separates, but I think it would be better as a blouse, skirt and belt 🙂

Outfit 7 – Flippy skirt

Last one!! If you’ve got this far without finding me too self-critical or, worse, self-proclaiming…well done 😛 This skirt I also adore…it just looks so comfy!! And the bow is what can only be described as a ‘statement’ 😛 What more can I say?!

 

Since these pieces, I’ve not done much serious sketching…a few dresses scribbled on the back of a receipt, necklaces in margins of lecture notes…but nothing major. I have been more preoccupied with trying to find new ways of using old things. I will be writing a post on this at a later date – just waiting on the chance for photos in slightly warmer conditions 😛 But for now, I’ll leave you with this…

Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.
Coco Chanel

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Collection of Charcoal Rainbows

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I remember seeing these designs, well some of them, on your wall in good old Y Borth! 😛 Good memories and superb designs! xx

Leave a Reply

