Nailing it!

Over Christmas I was able to fulfil a wish I had last Christmas, thanks to a January ’10 sales purchase! Ever since I received a Nail Pens set for Christmas one year I have spent too much time thinking up inventive designs and then actually trying to paint them on my own nails…easier said than done in many cases! It’s amazing how difficult it is to be precise with your writing hand, let alone your non-writing hand. Many times my wanted straight line has turned out all wiggly or crooked. Or the previous colour hasn’t dried properly and I end up gouging into it with the nib of the pen. It’s moments like this I take a deep breath, try not to fiddle, and remember the success stories of my nail endeavours 🙂

Pudsey nails

One of my favourites was actually one of the first designs I tried. It was Children in Need, and my What Liza Wore word was Pudsey, so I decided to echo this with my nails. I had to use a paintbrush for the base colour as the little brush was too fiddly. Then I added asymmetrical white tips and multi-coloured dots. The dots were the easy bit 😛

Pudsey, Take 2

This year for CIN I wanted to do Pudsey nails again, but thought it was too easy to use the same design. This time I used a gold base to make that bit easier, but added bear faces to the main nail. Let’s just say, one hand was a lot better than the other 😛 You may also notice that the thumbnail has a black line where the others don’t…it seemed a good idea until I tried it!

Under the Sea

This brings me to the point that not all of my efforts have been wholly successful.

Believe it or not, these are supposed to be waves on the tips of the nails. Unfortunately, it is more like I have just dipped my nails in white paint 😛 The sea colour is lovely though…I think I used a metallic blue base, then a green-blue shine over the top (sorry for not being more specific!)

Another mistake occurred when I was theming my nails for Alice in Wonderland that was being performed at Uni. I wanted each nail to be a different element from the play, so I designed the White Rabbit, the March Hare (based on the mask I made for the part) and the Cheshire Cat. It was the latter of these that I had issues with.

Alice in Wonderland

I’m guessing you can guess which is which, but if I hadn’t told you what the orange one was, could you have guessed? I reckon not! It is more like an orange Frankenstein or maybe a pumpkin..definitely not a cat! Oh well, you can’t win them all! The other nine nails hopefully made up for it!

Cards

 

On the subject of Alice in Wonderland, how about the cards? I think I included the whole suit of hearts spread over the ten nails. Close to, they look a bit like a runaway spider’s efforts, but overall they are quite effective. They took forever though…I think it was during the January exam period…wonderful usage of my time 😛

Anyway, back to the initial subject of this post, and my wish come true over Christmas. I decided that I wanted to paint my nails to look like little Christmas puddings, but I had no brown nail varnish (unsurprisingly!). When I saw said colour varnish in Aldi after Christmas I decided to buy it and hope I remember my bright idea 11 months later! Needless to say, I did, and the first opportunity I had I sat down and broke open the Pudding varnish 😛

Christmas Puddings

An hour later and my nails were good enough to eat (well, almost). I wasn’t completely happy with the results because as usual I had managed to mess up at least half of them, but overall I think the effect was there. I certainly had plenty of compliments during the following few days before they started to chip!

As you may gather, this is only a small selection of the designs I did during 2009/2010 but if I went on any longer I doubt many people would reach the end! Many I’ll dig them out at a later date 🙂 Or maybe I’ll find something new to try…I already have a few ideas! Any suggestions are welcome, I’d like to know what you think of the above efforts and any ideas you may have for me to try.

All that remains for me to say is a belated Happy New Year, and I hope 2011 brings all luck and happiness to everyone 🙂

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nailing it!

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I meant to comment on this several moons ago…to say how much I love all the nail designs. Pudsey nails being my favourite of course 😛

Leave a Reply

