A Post of Wishes

As this blog is named ‘A Wish is a Rainbow’ it might be appropriate to share some things that, if money were no object, I would love to own! However, not all the things I want are your typical ‘fashion’ items! Yes, they are belts, tops and skirts….but maybe not to everybody’s taste 😛 Ever since I was very little I have been surrounded by sequins, gold coins and sparkle. I remember (partly through photos I’ve seen more recently) going with my Mum to a festival and being surrounded by bright colours and beautiful music, and wanting to join in. The best bit was, I could join in, as it was my Mum and her friends who were wearing the bright colours and dancing to the music. This was the beginning of my love for Belly Dancing. I have to say, it wasn’t an easy journey…I did go through tough patches where I was too self-conscious to dance in public, I couldn’t find a costume I liked, and at one point wanted nothing whatsoever to do with it all!

However, times change, and who’d have thought that I’d now be teaching a class of my own at uni!! As with all groups of Belly Dancers that I’ve met, we are basically one big group of friends who enjoy to dance. It’s not for anyone else, it’s for each individual. After all, it is thought that Belly Dancing was originally by women for women, and not for entertainment purposes. Having said that, many of the modern costumes available for Belly Dancing are rather revealing, which doesn’t suit everyone!

Anyway! Back to what this started out as…a post of wishes 🙂

This is a good example of a more revealing costume, and yet I absolutely love its simplicity! Red and gold are such classic colours (most of my Mum’s costumes are these two colours and look amazing), although I think they look best with dark hair. There’s no complicated embroidery, only one colour on the bra and hipbelt and no dangly bits hanging off either. But that’s why it works! It highlights the parts of the dancer’s body which do the most work in her dancing – the chest and hips.

This isn’t to say that more colours or embellishments worsen an outfit, it is all subjective! Personally I think that two main colours works really well. However, me being me, probably doesn’t stick to this very well in reality 😛

And this is why…so many more than two colours, and yet it is beautiful! I love this hipbelt and skirt so much! There’s the rainbow talking again 😛 I am much more likely to actually wear this than the last one, even though I don’t think it would make much noise, as it is beads rather than coins which make up the moving part! That was one of the concerns I had about my orange and silver costume (seen in the first picture). It looks lovely, but doesn’t make much noise, something I like about my usual chain coin belt 🙂 The solution? Combining two tribal coin belts into one, which I can wear over the top! Yes, it is stupidly heavy, but sounds good!! I mentioned it being ‘tribal’…this is a style which I am growing to love, and which incorporates itself into my less commercial style costumes.

There is something about the free movement allowed by having loose harem pants, a split skirt, ribbons, charms, flowers etc that just makes me want to get up and dance! Whilst I am not about to grow my hair and put it into dreadlocks, I do enjoy finding tribal inspired ways of wearing my costume – scarves and coins rather than a usual hipbelt, layered skirts/trousers, reds/golds/blacks…a statement of identity 🙂 That’s what I love about Belly Dancing…even in performance it is a group of women enjoying themselves, rather than a troupe there to entertain. I must stress, not everyone shares my opinion on this, but it is how I believe it should be. So with costume, I like it when everyone wears exactly what they want, as it is a representation of their personality and how they perceive the dancing.

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Post of Wishes

  1. yeeeeed says:

    This post just leaves me feeling a mixture of nervous and excited!! 😛

Leave a Reply

