A Case of New Life :)

I’ve been slacking on posting again, oops! But what with lectures starting, Wind in the Willows rehearsals and dance, I’ve not had much time to think, let alone write! I’ve got quite a few posts lined up, so hopefully I’ll get round to typing them up over the next week or so. Then again, maybe not πŸ˜› WhatΒ has been good is that Willows has given me an excuse to get out my sewing machine! A pair of brown dungarees and a Victorian style swimsuit (well, top and shorts) have found themselves being created in a matter of hours. Photos of these to follow, but don’t want to spoil the surprise for anyone coming to see the play! πŸ™‚

Anyway, what I really wanted to share was a recent purchase from one of the charity shops in Bangor. Last Monday my Mum came up to Bangor to teach my Belly Dance class, so during the day we decided to have a girly day shopping πŸ™‚ We are such bad influences on each other…I ended up spending a lot more than I intended to πŸ˜› But a girl can never have too many necklaces and pretty tops!! The one thing that I really fell in love with was this crochet-covered little case:

It is just so cute πŸ™‚ Admittedly you can’t fit much in it, but I’m currently using it as my sewing case for rehearsals! I just love the texture and pattern in the crochet, the smooth wooden handle and little button clasp.

It makes me feel really nostalgic, with its little feet and structure. The only complaint I had was with the little plastic squares adorning the front. I get why they are there, but I wanted a more versatile bag, so decided I would have to take them off. However, for the princely sum of Β£3.99 I decided that it was worth it!!

So, back home I got out my little jewellery pliers and started work on freeing the other side of crochet. Some of them undid really easy, others were more challenging…they kept getting caught on the strands of the bag. Eventually though I managed to get all the little slips undone and take off the squares. In my opinion it looks so mο»Ώuch sweeter now πŸ™‚

I have kept the front bit…you never know when it might come in handy!! One day I might even decide to put it back on the bag, but for now I am enjoying it as it is πŸ™‚

The inside is so deceptive…it looks like you should be able to fit in loads, but in fact I struggled to just fit my usual handbag contents!

Regardless, I will endeavour to find an opportunity to use it other than for sewing stuff πŸ™‚ So, watch this space….!! πŸ™‚

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Case of New Life :)

  1. Kate says:

    I can’t wait to see the swimsuit on Friday!! πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: All dressed up with nowhere to go | A Wish is a Rainbow

Leave a Reply

