Storing a jumble of colour

One of the major ‘problems’ in my room (either at home or at uni) is space for my huge collection of jewellery. I have spent so much time rearranging, finding new means of storage and ways of effectively displaying some of my favourite things. Usually, this time is wasted as within days I have a large pile of tangled necklaces and discarded rings!
I generally have to spend my weekend sorting it all out and putting it all away. Most of my necklaces are kept in individual resealable bags (slightly obsessive, I know :P) and then in two old biscuit tins!! This stops them tangling, but I do tend to forget what I have :/

My earrings are another problem. Why is it such an effort to put them away at night, especially when you have to undo them to take them off….surely putting them straight away is just as easy?! I have an earring ‘wardrobe’ for my smaller studs and use a roll of fabric for the larger ones. My dangly earrings have been in the top layer of my amazing jewellery box (a present from my Dad a while ago)…sorted into short and long, and hook and stud, of course!

However, for Christmas I got this new jewellery hanger! Perfect for hanging my larger hook earrings to stop them getting caught up and also they get to be displayed and admired. Only problem was…I initially had nowhere to hang it! It has taken me a month and a half to find a way of undoing the screw in my wardrobe to hang it over! Oops 😛

But now, it is up and I notice a different pair of earrings each time I enter my room as it faces the door. Also, I had never realized before that most of my earrings fit into the same sorts of colours – silver, purple, green and blue!

Having solved some of my storage problems, I realized how little of my jewellery actually gets worn regularly, especially since WLW ended. For example, the other day I was looking for a particular necklace in one of my tins and came across a necklace I bought from ASOS during last year some time. About once a year I tend to trawl the sale section of the ASOS website and end up buying loads of jewellery! This was from one of those times where I spent about £15 on 6 or so items! Bargain! Anyway, this one I wore loads when I got it, even with WLW!

But, I’ve not worn it for ages now! (Note to self: Wear tomorrow! 🙂 ) And this isn’t the only item…there are probably countless others that haven’t seen the light of day for a while.

So, to try and solve this problem I have pledged to wear every single item of jewellery I own from now on. I have started with my earrings….already I have worn every pair on the first side of the ‘wardrobe’…and will carry on through these, onto the larger studs, then the danglies etc!! Who knows what treasures I might rediscover as I go through them?! I tend to buy a new necklace, for example, wear it for weeks on end ignoring everything else, then find something new and abandon it! This needs to change. Either that, or I need to stop buying more jewellery!! (I can’t see that happening tbh!!)

 

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storing a jumble of colour

  1. yeeeeed says:

    Is it time to trawl the ASOS website soon?! 😛 You’ll never stop buying jewellery…and nor would I want you to!

Leave a Reply

