Behind the Camera…

As some of you may know, last year I did What Liza Wore, and therefore had a picture taken of me every day for a year. I don’t really consider myself a very photogenic person, so am actually surprised I didn’t complain too much! However, since the end of that I’ve not really taken many pictures of my friends as it was always difficult to switch off from the WLW full length shots :/ I like photography, but am more likely to take 200 photos of flowers and buildings than people. So, for my friend Kate’s challenge – What Kate Did – I decided I would organise a photoshoot for her. One of my housemate’s would do hair and make-up, I would be the stylist and plan the shoot, and then another friend would actually take the piccies. I had my idea quite early on….modern 50s freedom. A mix of the post-war freedom and our current fashion freedom hopefully resulting in an ‘eccentricly’ classy shoot.

However, when it actually came to it, the others couldn’t make it. So this left little old me to try and change the habit of a lifetime and actually take pictures of someone! Also had to attempt hair and make-up (not my strongest point, it must be said :/)….and compete with Bangor’s wind! I think we managed OK though (see gallery below)…I am especially pleased with the B&W and sepia photos…they somehow captured exactly the feel I wanted 🙂 Hopefully Kate had a lovely day too, as it was supposed to be for her benefit!!

The outfit itself consisted of my polka dot 50s style dress made by my Grandma for my Mother in the 60s/70s, red polo neck and matching red tights, green charity shopped belt, New Look court shoes (and Kate’s own turquoise shoes later on)….and a selection of some of my jewellery 🙂 This dress is one of my favourite items in my wardrobe….I love it so so much!! I also put my kneelength ballet tutu underneath to puff out the skirt, as i don’t yet have a net underskirt!

Hope my photography isn’t too awful…I would appreciate people’s opinions and advice on how to make my portraits better 🙂

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Behind the Camera…

  1. yeeeeed says:

    You did a fantastic job! I absolutely loved wearing the pudsey dress, you know I adore it 😀 I really enjoyed myself 😀 THANK YOU! xx

Leave a Reply

