A Collection of Random Posts

I’ve had a couple of posts planned for a while, but none have been quite long enough for their own moment in the spotlight, so to speak. However, they don’t deserve to just collect dust in my mind and therefore I thought I’d group them all together to give them their 5 minutes of fame.

So, first to take to the stage is…*drumroll please*…something distinctly not fashion related! As a Linguistic student, I think every now and again it is worth bringing this into my blog (see A Spider’s Web of Language). A week or so ago I was lent a book (thank you Lizzie :)) by David Crystal – Just A Phrase I’m Going Through. This is his autobiography detailing how he became a Linguist and what that means. So far I have only read up to page 16, but already I am hooked and would recommend it to anyone with even a fleeting interest in language. His way of writing is so engaging, and his stories and anecdotes have had me giggling to myself already! (And got me a few strange looks on the train 😛 ). I also really can relate to more or less the first thing in chapter 1 (seen below) – when asked what you study, the next question is always ‘so how many languages do you speak?’ Time after time I have had to explain what Linguistics actually is, and that fluently I can only speak English (unfortunately – I would love to be bilingual!). Crystal just seems to have the knack for saying what you are thinking and making you feel part of the story. This just makes me look forward even more to the 23rd March and Bangor’s David Crystal Day!! Sad, I know, but I’m actually looking forward to lectures!

Anyway, enough babbling on about work and language, and back to a less intellectual subject 😛  I wore my new boots on Saturday and got so many compliments on them that they are well and truly justified! Not that I was fishing for compliments…but it is always nice 🙂 Strangely enough, now that WLW is finished (I still seem to see this as a recent thing!) I find it a lot harder to put together an outfit from one idea. I started with the boots and then stopped. I have to admit that I don’t own that many clothes with that particular shade of purple (this thought did occur when purchasing…just got ignored :P) and so I struggled. However, once I realized that my new dress was a good enough match, it grew from there 🙂 I love the purple sequin scarf…might become a new wardrobe favourite! (The photo is with my Dad ‘cos I decided to get a picture taken of both of us, then forgot to take one of just the outfit, so it’s the only way I can show you!) I also got a fair few comments on my ‘Mummy’s scissors’ which leads me onto my third star…

 

A few months ago I discovered a wonderful blog called ‘Clothes, Cameras and Coffee’ and more specifically this particular post . This really appealed to my quirky creativity and I decided to try it. However, I didn’t have any small scissors and didn’t really think that buying a pair had the same meaning, so had to wait until I went home over Christmas. I found an old pair of nail scissors and carefully packed them on my return to Bangor. One evening during exams I rediscovered them and decided to raid my ribbon box and create. It was then I realized that the majority of my ribbons are either really wide, or are stupidly short (i.e. from Christmas crackers!) so had a dilemma. I went with lots of short narrow pieces and would them round the handles, and then the blades. Gluing the ends was tricky, but it has so far worked (touch wood!) and I have worn them so much! Plus, as I said before, they are most definitely a talking point. I want to make another pair…maybe in gold…but I need another pair of scissors first!

On a slight aside…our belly dancing hoodies arrived in the post on Monday…they were waiting for me when I got back to Bangor! 🙂 I got slightly overexcited!!! Hehe should have some pictures to show you soon, along with our first performance on the 25th March! Well, I’m looking forward to it 😛


About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Collection of Random Posts

  1. You’re very welcome for the book 🙂

    I’m glad you’re excited for next Friday, but firmly believe you’re alone in this emotion!! 😛

  2. Ian Collings says:

    I am so jealous of Bangor and meeting David Crystal. I hope you have a lovely time. And yes, those boots are stunning. We were eye to eye at the after show party ;o)

Leave a Reply

