A Fuller Full Wardrobe

As you may have picked up on by now, I have given up shopping for Lent! It may seem a little drastic, especially considering that I don’t actually spend that much on clothes etc. but I actually feel really good for doing it. Just think of all that money I am saving!! In fact, because I feel bad about spending on unnecessary things, I’m beginning to be tight-fisted on everything else too. Supermarket trips have a ‘spend as little as humanly possible’ feel to them, and social events make me feel guilty as I hand over my money. I guess maybe I’m taking it a tad too far, but it’s not actually a bad thing.

Anyway, because of my shopping ban I decided to organize a clothes swap party at my house yesterday. About nine of us sorted through our wardrobes and came armed with all those things that have been lurking at the back of your wardrobe unwanted for years! In between numerous cups of tea (or honey and lemon for me – sore throat :/) we fought over each other’s clothes 😛 Ok, maybe ‘fought’ is a little strong…generally speaking we have different tastes and sizes in clothes and so it was quite likely that if you liked something, you got it! I feel that I did very well out of it…in fact came away with more than I took to swap :/ Oops!! But I did feel good letting some of my things go to new homes 🙂 As for what is now gracing my wardrobe – lots of new treasures. In fact, I managed to put together a whole new outfit by combining things from four different people! That is the brilliant thing about an event like this…you never know what you will find!

As well as the above outfit, I also got a large selection of T-shirts, another dress, a few tops, a skirt and some jewellery 🙂 Thank you to all the girls that came, and I hope you all enjoyed yourselves! I’m planning to host another one after Easter as I know most people have stuff at home they don’t wear. I should probably go through my wardrobe here again; as I’m sure it’s not designed to hold that many clothes! Oh well.

As I was using ‘Vera’ (my tailor’s dummy) to photograph my new clothes, I decided to give her a new outfit. Previously she was sporting my home-made pink satin and green lace dress (That still sounds awful in description :/) with a top over it that I was altering, and a white belt to tidy it all together. I also tend to use her as a necklace stand 😛 Plus, when this picture was taken I was also keeping my sailor’s hat on her for Portly! Well, I decided it was time for a change. Over summer my Mum gave me a red sequin dress, which I still haven’t found a chance to wear. As Vera is red as well, this seemed a good way to show it off! It certainly catches your eye as you come up the stairs 🙂 One day the perfect opportunity will arise, but until then I can just admire it this way.

At this point I must just apologise for all the clutter in the backgrounds to most of my photos…I don’t really have a blank space in my room! It is all organised clutter, but clutter nonetheless. I am a bit of a hoarder and therefore have way too much stuff, all of which means something to me, and none of which I will throw away! It tends to take a very long time for me to actually part from anything. Another reason why doing a clothes swap is a good idea! It forces me to sort things out a little bit. I would definitely recommend it to anyone….especially students on a small budget….just remember the tea and cakes 😛

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Fuller Full Wardrobe

  1. ibc4 says:

    Liking the Bill Bryson’s on the bottom shelf 😀

  2. yeeeeed says:

    A rip-roaring success!! 😀

Leave a Reply

