Channelling the 1970s

After saying only the other day how little I like the 1970s fashions, I seem to have been subconsciously dressing to it! I didn’t really realize until I was looking through a few photos from the last few days, now I’ve started taking outfit pictures again. Firstly, on Friday I decided to wear my vintage dress which I am assured is early 70s (thanks Mum :P). She remembers the ‘pretend’ patchwork fabrics being popular at around that time, when she was at college. The same goes for the midi length. (I’m sure she’s going to love me for making her feel old now :P) At first I was undecided on the midi skirts…a lot of the examples I had seen looked frumpy and a bit ‘droopy’ :/ Especially with flat shoes, which is pretty much all I wear in Bangor! Heels + hills = big mistake! However, I have been looking for some longer skirts for a while now…knee length or longer preferably…so when I found this dress I decided to try it. I actually think that the length is really nice…makes a more classic outline. But then, the pattern makes it quirky enough for my love of the unusual!

My other 70s outfit is today’s…floral maxi skirt and loose cardi…all I needed was a blouse tucked in and I was set! However, I stayed away from that, teaming it with a cartoon T-shirt (from the clothes swap) and plimsoles. I wanted to wear a skirt because it was such a lovely day, but didn’t want to wear tights, so opted for this. It is so ‘flowy’ and colourful…I have officially declared summer! I got complimented on it outside Uni too…it acted as a good distraction from all the electoral candidates asking for our votes for the AU :/ It is impossible to get into the Main Arts Building without being bombarded by people asking to vote for them! Talk about feeling pressurized!

Sorry for the incoherency of this post…my brain seems to have turned to jelly today! I think I am just about capable of stringing random sentences together…whether or not they make sense is another matter! I blame my degree 😛

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Channelling the 1970s

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I am a fan of both outfits…and the fact the skirt acted as a welcome sideline from being told to vote! Although, I now have a sticker to say I’ve voted…so I’m safe, even if it isn’t genuine 😛

Leave a Reply

