A touch of culture

Due to a lack of exciting outfits, time for something a little different! There is an element of ‘fashion’…but not necessarily what you’d expect. I live about 10 miles from the National Trust property, Powis Castle and have been many many times. Mainly, this is due to the fact that my Mum has been volunteering there for over 10 years (I think :P) and during the holidays from school I used to go along with her on a Friday afternoon and annoy all the other volunteers by chattering at them for hours πŸ˜› I wasn’t that bad actually…I’d help on the front entrance, taking umbrellas and bags etc, and helping sell raffle tickets at the exit. But what I have always loved about Powis Castle is the garden. 26 acres of terraces, formal gardens, wilderness and the great lawn. As a child I would wander round for hours getting lost in the beauty and grandeur of it…walking along the terraces, smiling at the statues, finding the pet’s graveyard and hunting for the giant who left his foot behind πŸ˜› I knew all the paths, the shortcuts, and where everything was. Then I didn’t go for a few years. Last summer I decided to revisit my childhood and lose myself in the gardens again. This time I took my camera with me and ended up with a memory card of about 200 photos! The gardens hadn’t lost their beauty πŸ™‚

Anyway, after that short history lesson, yesterday I went again. Currently my Mum is part of the live interpretation of the Stuarts, and is in costume two days a week, greeting visitors and bringing the history alive. She wanted photos. I wanted to take photos. Perfect! It gave me a good opportunity to take lots of photos in the gardens again, and hopefully a peek of the resident peacocks, and Mum got some costumes photos out of it! Three hours and 150 photos later….

Started by taking some of ‘Florentia Herbert’ πŸ˜› The weather wasn’t great – a bit murky and dull, so didn’t want to risk the rain spoiling things. I think she looks brilliant, personally!

I then moved into the gardens, and although the main flower season hasn’t started yet (there were a lot of green plants without even buds yet!) I still managed to take lots and lots of pictures. These are just some of them πŸ™‚

The castle, from the top level of the gardens…

The magnolia was so so beautiful πŸ™‚ Even when all the petals had fallen off, as seen below. The orange flowers were in the Orangery…on a side note, there is a ‘natterbox’ in there, telling visitors about the gardens…I’m sure that voice sounds familiar…:P

This plant was so unusual…never seen anything like it before! I found it quite tricky to photograph effectively though, maybe too much going on!

This view from the rose garden up towards the castle, including the Bothy, is so pretty. Better on a clearer day, but the castle is still quite imposing!

Round by the Ice House, the lake was looking quite mysterious in the murky light. I spent quite a while watching the ducks andΒ moor-hensΒ swimming along and eating insects.

Plus, I found the peacocks πŸ™‚ To be honest, I had plenty of time to photograph them. I left the garden at about 3pm, had a quick look round the castle, as some rooms had been changed, and then went and settled myself on a bench to wait for Mum to finish.

The peacock was being quite noisy, but he didn’t display, unfortunately 😦 I also was able to take close pictures of the peahens, as they were quite inquisitive πŸ™‚ One of them came right up to me at the bench!

As you may have gathered, these are only a very small selection of what I took. I’m going to put the others up on Facebook if anyone’s interested. Anyway, I should get back to my work…the joys of Phonology :/

‘No two gardens are the same.Β  No two days are the same in one garden. ‘ ~Hugh Johnson

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A touch of culture

  1. Fantastic photos, your Mum looks stunning! πŸ™‚

  2. Kate says:

    Beautiful pictures – the peacock is amazing! Also, your Mum looks fabulous! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

