Old photos and sequins

While I’ve been at home over Easter I’ve been going along to my Mum’s belly dance classes πŸ™‚ I get all the fun of dancing, without the stress of teaching! Everyone needs a break now and then. As the weather improved, Mum decided to dress up for class, and I never need asking twice πŸ˜› Any opportunity, eh? In the way only I can, I forgot to take a picture of my first outfit, and couldn’t be bothered to recreate it next day…maybe another time…but did remember to take this Tuesday’s.

I may have raided Mum’s costumes slightly πŸ˜› The skirt is hers, as is the hipbelt I’m wearing as the crossover top! This did start to strangle me after a while, so had to remove it and just make do with the purple vest top i had on underneath. The purple scarf round my hips was one of my veils from when I was younger, and the rainbow scarf another I’ve had for years. The silver metal chain belt I bought at Chirk car boot on Easter Monday for Β£1!! Bargain!! πŸ™‚ I even have a bracelet from my Grandmother that matches it almost perfectly!

Talking of jewellery, Mum went through her jewellery yesterday, and actually got rid of quite a lot of things! I however, have now gained quite a lot of things….oops πŸ˜› Oh well, I can’t help being both a magpie and a squirrel!

Back to belly dancing, and I thought I would just share a few photos I found lying around the house.

The first one was taken of my Mum in 1990, while she was still in the Wrens. I love this picture so much…she just looks so beautiful, and I wish my costumes looked that good πŸ˜› Looking at this, it’s no wonder I love dancing so much! Also, if I thought I could get away with stealing that skirt, I would πŸ˜› Hehe

The second picture was taken at Sidmouth Fringe Festival, possibly around 1989. I like the movement in this photo…the veil, the beads, the skirt…how dance should be πŸ™‚ I wish I had the chance to do more performance now, and would love an opportunity to dance a duet with my Mum, but I don’t know when I’ll get the chance.

Fast forward a few years to 1995, and there is a little fairy dancing with her Mummy at Ludlow Fringe Festival πŸ˜› I still have this costume…and actually, because the skirt is on elastic, I can still get it on! Admittedly only on my waist, and it is barely decent, but that is beside the point! One thing I had never noticed before about this picture is the concentration on my face, and the muscles you can see in my stomach! Apparently it is unusual for a 4-yr-old to contract like that! Always was a little odd….:P

I did have another costume which my Mum made for me…holographic silver and rainbow swirls, with dark indigo and purple bead fringing. I didn’t get to wear it very much as I grew too quickly, and then lost interest in belly dancing for a few years, and therefore I can’t seem to find a photo of it. I do still have it somewhere though, just for nostalgia’s sake πŸ˜›

“It is not the movements that make a dance beautiful, it is the emotions that inspired the movements that make it beautiful.” —Kristy NilssonΒ 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Outfit posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old photos and sequins

  1. Lizzie says:

    LOVE the photos πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yourself and your Mum looking incredible as usual πŸ˜€

  2. yeeeeed says:

    A trip down memory lane…! πŸ˜€

  3. Lauren says:

    What you and your mother do is so incredible! Belly dancing is a dying art form, but something so rare and very special. I admire you both so much for doing something so unique and wonderful!

    P.S. All of the clothes are just phenomenal, as well!

Leave a Reply

