All dressed up with nowhere to go

I know I said I was going to share my recent purchases from ASOS, Boohoo and Primark, but I couldn’t not show you my latest find! It is almost the same reaction as to my purple boots…as in, absolutely obsessed, but with no immediate opportunity to wear it! Oh well 😛

Mum and I went up to Bangor on Wednesday to pack up the rest of the stuff I wanted over Summer (a car load…oops!). After a lovely lunch with Kate we popped into the charity shop next door for a browse. One of the nice ladies working there said we might be interested in looking at some clothes over the bannister upstairs, some of which were vintage! An opportunity neither of us was passing up! It felt a little strange going upstairs to have a look…almost like trespassing :/ However, no-one told us we were wrong so we rooted through the piles of clothes. In amongst all the dresses that went out of fashion for a reason was an unassuming cream dress. On first glance it could have almost been a nightie! On closer inspection, it was a beautiful cheesecloth summer dress, with a crocheted high neckline and tight crocheted cuffs. I took it downstairs to find out the price and was delighted to hear it was mine for £3!! Very pleased 🙂

Yesterday I had to unpack the huge pile that had been formed in the dining room. I managed all of it except the suitcases, and decided I deserved a break. So, I found the new dress and played dress-up until I settled on this very garden party-esque outfit. I kept adding to it, and messed around with the self-timer…some were better than others 😛

The dress itself fits like a glove, almost like it was made for me! I have to wear a camisole and petticoat underneath though – it is basically see-through!

As I was prancing around the house in my garden party outfit I remembered I had the perfect bag to go with it – another item I got slightly over excited about 🙂

So, I was all dressed up, but had nowhere to go! Hopefully I’ll find a chance soon…although with this ‘wonderful’ weather I might be waiting a while :/ I think I could possibly get blown away!

(Rest of the outfit: belt – clothes swap, hat – Malta, shoes – Peacocks, bangles – birthday and clothes swap!)

‘Just around the corner in every woman’s mind – is a lovely dress, a wonderful suit, or entire costume which will make an enchanting new creature of her’.  ~Wilhela Cushman

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All dressed up with nowhere to go

  1. ibc4 says:

    Stunning, as ever 😉

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I absolutely love that dress!! From a distance, it looks a little bit like my Mum’s wedding dress – it is stunning Liza. You must find a opportunity to wear it!

  3. Lauren says:

    Oh. my. golly.goodness! This dress is SO beautiful! Gahh, everything about it I just love! You are one incredibly lucky gal 😀

  4. Nicole says:

    That dress is wonderful! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

