These are a few of my favourite things…

What a wonderful song, from a wonderful musical. I love The Sound of Music…it reminds me of summers spent with my Grandparents in the Midlands, and the songs are so easy to join in with. Last summer I was lucky enough to see a touring performance of The Sound of Music in Llandudno, with Connie Fisher as Maria. It was amazing. I can’t describe how much I enjoyed it! And it isn’t just The Sound of Music that I adore…Singing in the Rain has to be one of the best films I have ever seen!! Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor and Debbie Reynolds are huge names of the 1950s, and rightly so. I could watch it over and over again.

But this post isn’t just about the musicals…although that fit in nicely with my title…but rather about what things in life are truly special to me. I think sometimes we get so caught up in work/studying that we forget to live. What is the point in achieving a degree if you have no-one to share your success with? Why work so hard that you no longer have time to do the things you love? I have been the quiet one who revises, does well in my exams and then goes home. Who was there to share it with? My family 🙂 Whatever I have chosen to do, however well (or badly) I have done in something, they have always been there to support me.

Yes, they sometimes annoy me…like when you get 19/20 in a primary school spelling test and all you get from home is ‘what happened to the other mark?’ It’s surprising how grating that can get after a while! But, there are so many things I wouldn’t have done without their support and persuasion: Berlin. I was set on not going, I was scared silly about the whole thing. A very shy 16-yr old going to another country with a group of people she had never met – my idea of complete and utter nightmare. However, it was one of the best experiences of my life so far! I had an amazing weekend, and have a couple of absolutely wonderful friends because of it. University. Another nightmare waiting to happen. Or so I thought. I have never been so homesick in all my life, and was so so close to getting on the train and never going back. But, my parents persuaded me to stick it out, and with a little help from a certain Miss Barton I have had a ball ever since!

This brings me to the other people who are so so special to me – my friends. All through school I had one or two very close friends and then felt like I had nothing in common with anyone else. Being shy I think stopped me from making conversation with people I didn’t know very well, so I struggled to make friends. I also wasn’t a ‘girly-girl’ into pink, clothes and make-up…I was always quite quirky! This meant I didn’t fit in with the ‘in-crowd’.

However, although it was hard at the time, I am now so glad I stuck to being myself. The friends I made, were true friends and I am still in touch with now. I think it was Sixth Form that I really found myself, however cheesy that sounds 😛 I don’t get to see my friends from Oswestry School that often…we are all dotted around the UK for uni, and many live abroad during the summer, but that doesn’t stop me keeping in touch, and meeting up when we can.

Uni-wise…where shall I start?! Suddenly, I seemed to have a group of friends who all liked me, for me. I guess it’s because I often tried too hard with people, or didn’t know where to start, that I found this such a surprise!

Linguistics, Dance, BEDS and of course X109-X116 Y Borth have made the last two years incredible, and have made me so glad that I went to Uni 🙂 Thank you!! Haha 😛

Well, this has gone slightly longer and ‘gushier’ than I planned…I was going to mention dance, pets, my ever growing jewellery collection…:P Maybe that will have to wait for another day. For now though,

‘The language of friendship is not words but meanings.’  ~Henry David Thoreau

‘You don’t choose your family.  They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.’  ~Desmond Tutu

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to These are a few of my favourite things…

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I must remember to live and revise/study – luckily I’ve got friends who, to an extent, force me to do so 😛

    I can relate to the “what happened to the other mark? comment…and echo your feelings entirely!

    Uni…pears and sandwiches :-P…glad I helped things turn round from those initial days of being so homesick….as uni wouldn’t be uni without you!

    I love the two quotes 😀

  2. ibc4 says:

    What lovely sentiment. Well said.

Leave a Reply

