Thoughts of the heart

One of the things I’ve wanted to share is some of my poetry. However, until a couple of weeks ago, I hadn’t written any for ages! As I said before, this is probably due to a lack of ‘drama’ 😛 This poem was initially thought of whilst walking Didy around the lanes…I don’t know what prompted it, but I had those first three lines running through my head the whole way. Usually I can identify what my poetry relates to, but this one is different. I honestly don’t know, but it felt very powerful to write!! See what you think 🙂 —>

There she stands,
In the doorway to the room.
So glamorous, so tall.
With one single glance she commands the room.
With one single turn she is gone.

In her pace stands a girl,
Feeling oh so very small.
Out of place, out of depth,
Her heart screams to her to leave.
Her head is willing the body to stay.

Loneliness creeps in,
Surrounds her like a blanket.
Stifling, comforting, not unusual to her.
She wishes she could face the room.
She wishes she could leave.

A young man makes his way towards her,
Attracted by her gaze.
Slowly he his drawn across.
He sees not a shy timid girl
He sees instead a woman.

There she stands,
In the doorway to the room.
Not knowing whether to run or stay.
With that one glance she chooses her fate.
With that one turn she is gone.

‘Poems are thoughts, not from the mind, but from the heart’ ~Me 🙂

‘A poem begins with a lump in the throat.’  ~Robert Frost

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts of the heart

  1. Lauren says:

    So beautiful! I could actually really relate to this poem… The words you wrote evoked feelings in me that I often have felt and it seems that you share some of the same feelings. My favorite kind of poetry is poetry that is universal and you have done that wonderfully!

  2. yeeeeed says:

    Love the poem – especially the way it ends with a similar verse as it starts. I like the quote from yourself too!

Leave a Reply

