Blue and purple wishes :)

For a while now I have wanted to have highlights in my fringe. Not blonde highlights; blue highlights! The problem was, my hairdresser only had a tealy colour, which I didn’t really like; and the supermarkets/boots/shops etc didn’t have ANYTHING! So, for a while I gave up. However, over Easter I found a website which sells hundreds of different colours…seriously, think of a colour and they have a dye to match! Suddenly I was spoilt for choice! I knew I didn’t want to bleach my hair first, and so was worried that the colour wouldn’t take or show. The only one that guaranteed vibrant colour on any colour hair was about £15. I wasn’t that desperate 😛 I decided, that for the same price I could buy two cheaper ones. About a month ago, then, I bought ‘Neon Blue’ and ‘Aubergine’ 🙂 They had two chances!!

It took us until Thursday to do the strand tests. The blue is supposed to be left on 15 mins, and the aubergine 15-30mins. We left them both on for half an hour. The aubergine looked lovely, the blue disappeared. 😦 When it came to actually dying my fringe yesterday morning, Mum thought it best to leave the blue for an hour, and the aubergine for 30 mins. Fingers crossed!! Neither of us had ever had highlights, let alone done them ourselves…good plan then! I put on a hairband to keep the majority of my hair out of the way, then Mum teased through small strands. She then put that on a small piece of foil and saturated it in dye! Fold, fold, fold; and the dye was safely away from my skin. By the time I had both the blue and aubergine streaks in foil, I looked like Medusa!!! Oh well 😛

We then had a bit of a wait. The bathroom became very familiar 😛 (Excuse the clutter by the way!!) I had the foresight to put my contact lenses in, so that One, I could see what Mum was up to, and Two, I could go and do other things while I was ‘cooking’ 😛 My jigsaw came along quite well during that hour!!

After the allotted time, the fun bit 😛 The foils pulled off easily, then rinsing the excess colour off resulted in a very pretty pattern of water in the bath 😛 Luckily it didn’t stain!! I then towel dried my hair, and left it. A bit later (still not completely dry) I wanted to try and show the colour a bit more. My fringe is so long now that the top layer is the same length as the bottom layer and therefore the colour doesn’t show that much. I tried to gel it so that it went back more, showing the colour. It stayed for about 30 seconds then flopped forward again. Basically, I failed 😛

This morning, however, I tried a different tack – a hairband! Although it made my hair ache after a few hours, it certainly showed the colour better!! I am really happy with both colours this time…the blue actually shows!! I am very tempted to put in more though…maybe another layer of my fringe so that more shows, and it might be more vibrant. What do you think?? For someone who said she would never dye her hair, it’ funny how things change!! Although, I am still under the impression that I wouldn’t dye my hair a natural colour, because this is the colour I was born with. Colours are different somehow…more an expression of your personality than hiding who you truly are. I do stress, that is only my opinion, and if someone wants to dye their hair from black to blonde, that is their choice.

‘Hair brings one’s self-image into focus; it is vanity’s proving ground.  Hair is terribly personal, a tangle of mysterious prejudices.’  ~Shana Alexander

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue and purple wishes :)

  1. yeeeeed says:

    Once again showing why you score so highly in the fashion stakes! 😀

  2. Lauren says:

    How fun and cute! When I was a freshman I dyed my whole head of hair hot, hot pink. It was so obnoxious but so much fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

