Flowers, walls and hopes :)

I am so behind with posts, and am off on holiday tomorrow, so by the time I get round to posting some things they will be REALLY out of date!! Oh well 😛

On Monday I went to Powis Castle (again :P) to take photos. And yes, this time I actually succeeded in taking some! I wasn’t coerced into dressing up. It was a gloriously warm day, but slightly damp. Very ‘muggy’ really. However, although it kept raining, you didn’t stay wet for long because it was so warm! It really was like being abroad! Anyway, after an initial shower and dive into the castle, I ventured into the gardens. I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I feel so at home in Powis’ gardens. I know my way around them so so well, due to many childhood afternoons spent exploring, and the whole place has a very friendly atmosphere. Also, having been there so many times, you may think, what is there new to see…but it allows me to notice the little things, appreciate the plants and generally enjoy my wanderings, without being distracted by the ‘touristy’ things.

I initially went to take pictures of the flowers, which are so beautiful at any time of the year! The gardeners must work sooo hard to keep it looking lovely all the time 🙂 However, I thought it would also be a lovely setting for an outfit post, as I had dressed up for the day 😛 It’s amazing how a posh house can make you feel under-dressed in jeans and a T-shirt 😛 My only problem was, I had no-one to take the pictures for me, and I forgot to look out a tripod :/ That meant balancing the camera on walls, bridges and benches to take a picture. Oh, and a lot of fingers crossed that it didn’t fall off!!

I did succeed, and no broken camera, so all in all not too bad! Luckily it was quite a quiet day, probably due to the threat of rain every 10 minutes, so I was able to pose and prance around without anyone seeing me 😛 I’m too shy to pose with an audience!! Taking of shyness, usually if I go somewhere, I am very quiet and won’t talk to anyone I don’t know. However, on this occasion I was being quite chatty with the public, making jokes, taking compliments…not like me at all! I think it was the hat 😛

I was quite surprised at how many places I could find to balance the camera actually! Especially places with a nice background. There is no point finding the perfect balancing spot if it is front of a barbed wire fence 😛 Well, that stands for this particular setting at least 😛 I guess the gardens are so picturesque though, that the opportunities should be endless (with a tripod).

This outfit consists of: floral maxi skirt from Boohoo. I love this so so much, and wear it way too much 😛 T-shirt from one of the clothes swaps; tatty white shoes from Stead and Simpson (I think :P); brown straw hat from Malta, even though I have always said I don’t like hats :P; pashmina from one of our holidays, possibly in the UK somewhere!

I didn’t just take pictures of myself 😛 I actually took about 140 pictures of flowers and wildlife! These are just some of my favourite! The pink fluffy flower is so unusual…if anyone does happen to know what it is, then please let me know! Same for this one really! Loved the colours in it though 🙂

And lastly one of a little moth myself and an elderly couple spotted along one of the terraces. It didn’t look at first like a moth or butterfly because the wings seemed shorter than the body, and so it looked a bit out of proportion. However I am now almost convinced that it is 🙂 It seemed completely oblivious to us being there, and was happily feeding on the flowers. I got so close I could even see it’s ‘tongue’ !! Certainly a special experience 🙂

Anyway, as I said at the start of this post, I have other things to show you, but won’t have time before my holiday (especially as I should be packing at the moment :P). I mean, I said ages ago I was going to show you my buys from ASOS and Boohoo, but that never happened! Admittedly, I have worn most of those things by now, but I still have a lot of jewellery to show off 😛 Hopefully, after my holiday I will more to share, and more time to share it, but I do have a dissertation to be reading for, and collecting data for….as well my room to finish sorting, and the loft to re-organise…so we shall see 🙂 For now though:

‘I know that if odour were visible, as colour is, I’d see the summer garden in rainbow clouds.’ ~Robert Bridges, “Testament of Beauty”

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flowers, walls and hopes :)

  1. Amazing photos Liza! You look beautiful in the skirt 🙂

  2. yeeeeed says:

    Beautiful surroundings for some beautiful photos 🙂

  3. God Nostrils says:

    Gorgeous as always Liza! 😀

  4. Roz says:

    It looks like you are wafting around the most beautiful film set here!

Leave a Reply

