If clothes could talk…

Before you fall over with shock, yes I am posting twice in three days! Miracles do happen 😛 Probably more to the point, lack of imagination of what to do today. The weather is horrid, Dad’s at work, Mum’s off to the castle in about an hour and even my grandparents are going out, so I can’t go and annoy visit them! I need to rework my dissertation questionnaire after testing it yesterday – proved to be very hard to answer! So need to change a couple of questions and reword the whole thing :/ Eek! Hopefully won’t be too bad, but a necessary evil all the same. Apart from that…I am fresh out of ideas. Something will come up, I’m sure 🙂

Anyway…I have a few outfits backed up…some from holiday! But I have something else to share first. I wanted to see if I could find out how much vintage 1920s dresses were worth, after finding a couple at my Grandma’s house! More on that another time. The first website I looked at just blew me away. Pages and pages of beautiful clothes – from 1800s to modern things! I started looking through the Victorian and Edwardian section, which goes up to the 1920s…so many lovely things!! It’s just a shame these things are always so expensive 😦 For example, the price for this black and gold sequined dress from about 1905 is $8,500!! Oh well, I can admire from afar.

I then looked at the 1930s to today section and found more things I wanted! There is something really special about a piece of clothing that has been around for 60 or so years…if clothes could talk, think of the stories they would tell! Who has worn them, the places they’ve seen. There is also something ‘real’ about them – the craftsmanship was different, the materials are hardly used now, the colours were of a different era…today’s clothes don’t yet have that. Saying that, the one piece I really loved in this section was from 1991. It is so so pretty! The shape of the bodice is delightful, the little buttons down the edge of the bodice…and the tulle underskirt? That is just amazing!! I think I might have actually fallen in love with a dress 😛

I could go on with this…as Kate probably can tell from the many links I have sent her from this website! But, everybody is attracted to different things…so all I can really say is – go look 🙂 Scroll down the page through all the beautiful items…then, go to the next page. And the next. Lose yourself in the past 🙂 And on that note:

‘It is easily overlooked that what is now called vintage was once brand new.’ ~Tony Visconti 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If clothes could talk…

  1. Kate says:

    I am in the process of having a jolly good explore of the website, it is incredible!

  2. That black and gold lace dress is absolutely jaw-droppingly stunning! =)

    http://pinkchampagnefashion.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

