Grandma’s Dressing Up Box, Part 1!

First off, I want to apologise for the awful setting/lighting/make up/hair in the following photos. This wasn’t at all planned, and so it was only afterwards that I realised they could have looked so much better elsewhere, and done differently! Also, the weather that day was very windy and threatening rain….not good for 60 year old costumes and dresses that haven’t seen the light of day for 50-odd years!

Anyway, as you may have gathered, I finally got round to dressing up in some of the old costumes we found in one of Grandma’s trunks! It was good fun, especially as most of it fit me perfectly, as in, ‘made for me’ perfectly! I say mostly, because a pair of dance pants (Grandma made them to go under whatever costume she was wearing so she was decent when turned upside down :P)…well, I got them on…eventually…by lying down on the floor…and I stood up….eventually….but would definitely NOT have been able to dance them!! Haha oh well, one disaster isn’t bad šŸ˜›

Outfit 1 – 1920s style flapper dress. We do have a photo of this being worn…if I remember I will dig it out and post it at some point, with a link back to here šŸ™‚ I wasn’t sure of this to begin with…never really see myself as a 20s girl…but this is just so pretty! The flowers are past their best, and the whole thing could do with a steam clean and a press, but I love the length and fit of it – so comfortable! I borrowed Mum’s shoes, and used a hairband (originally Grandma’s) as a decoration šŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Outfit 2 – Authentic 1920s/30s gold net dress. It does have a few holes where it shouldn’t have, but it has lasted remarkably well considering! The pattern on it is beautiful – reminiscent of peacock feathers šŸ™‚ The biggest problem we had, was finding something suitable to wear underneath it! Because it is so sheer, you need a slip, and originally it would have had a gold slip to wear underneath. However, we no longer have this, and all the skin colour ones we have are too pale…hence the white-ish bands :/In this instance, it looks better on the hanger šŸ˜› I do like it with the drape at the back though…looks glam šŸ™‚

Outfit 3 – Bargirl šŸ˜› No photos of this being worn, apparently, which is a shame. I actually adore this. From the moment it got taken out of the trunk I wanted to try it on and dress up šŸ˜› The neckline is very tight – Grandma had a tiny neck! But apart from that it fits really nicely. It is surprising comfortable – feeling boned without actually being so. The fishnets were also out of the trunk, and the shoes and feathers are Mum’s šŸ™‚

 

Outfit 4 – Hiawatha. This was never worn for performance as the show was cancelled the week before. However, they had done Hiawatha before. The tunic, wig and headdress were all made by Grandma, all for her part. The knife and quiver were for ‘The Little Hut’ and used by my Grandfather. I felt like Pocahontas šŸ˜›

There were others, plus another bag of things to try on. I want to try and find the corresponding photos at some point…I think it brings them to life, somehow šŸ™‚

‘History is a kind of introduction to more interesting people than we can possibly meet in our restricted lives; let us not neglect the opportunity.’ Ā ~Dexter Perkins

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grandma’s Dressing Up Box, Part 1!

  1. Potato says:

    The dresses are gorgeous! I love the flapper dress especially!

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I’ve only just seen this – where have I been?! Just wow!

  3. Hahaha! You looked like a demented Pocahontas! šŸ˜› The net dress looks beautiful though- did you clean it?

  4. Pingback: Old Photos and New Beginnings | A Wish is a Rainbow

Leave a Reply

