Grandma’s Dressing Box, Part 2!

So, here is the second instalment of the wonders of Grandma’s costume trunk 🙂 Slightly better location, hair and make-up than last time….same amount of creases 😛 We did try steaming some of them this time, but because they have been packed for so long, it takes rather drastic measures to iron them out! Anyway, I’ve decided that I’ll do a separate post of the outfits and clothes being worn by my Grandma and her dance colleagues as I haven’t had the chance to dig out the photos again.

This first dress is lovely 🙂 The square neckline, the little bows at the neck and cuffs, the blouson-effect top and the perfect length…my new LBD! Worn with Mum’s pearls, a belt and Mum’s heeled sandals made for her in Hong Kong 🙂 I now have such a collection of dresses put aside for events I’m never likely to go to. Ballgowns, party frocks, vintage garden party dress…all waiting for that day they will have their moment!

The outfit on the left is another lovely dress, but initially I didn’t like it! It is sooo heavy due to the amount of fabric in it. Plus, the draping and pleating over the bust seemed designed for someone a tad larger! However, after some ‘rearranging’ it seemed a lot better. Adding the wide belt nipped it in at my waist, and the length is really nice. The best thing about it – it is comfy! I could quite easily go out for a meal in it, and not be worried about eating 😛

The other dress I loved when I first saw it, but having tried it on I’m no longer so sure. The length is a bit weird, and the neckline is quite high :/ I mean, it’s not terrible, but after the other two dresses, it falls down slightly.

The last two outfits are both based on the same items – Black chiffon skirt that was Mum’s, and a black leotard previously discovered in Grandma’s things. The all-black outfit has a black overskirt that is meant to go with the first dress – pleated and two sections that ties round the waist. This is worn with a black sequin embellished jacket, belted to fit. In it’s heyday it would have been lovely, but now it is a little ‘tired’. The second outfit is to show this beautiful blue and gold ‘top’. It’s actually quite difficult to describe…it is a wide-shouldered sleeveless waistcoat that doesn’t fasten, with long panels that hang from the wide shoulders. The fabric is a rich variegated blue chiffon, edged with heavy gold thread. This has caused the chiffon to rip at the top of the panels, unfortunately…another piece of clothing to be wrapped in tissue paper and got out to ‘oo’ and ‘ahh’ over 😛

There are more…but they can wait for another day. I know there is a definite colour theme here – black, black and more black! As Henry Ford once said, ‘Any colour – so long as it’s black!’

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grandma’s Dressing Box, Part 2!

  1. Potato says:

    Black! =)))))

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I love the dress with the high neckline and white flowers! Also, your nails are beautiful colours 🙂

Leave a Reply

