Old Photos and New Beginnings

The time is nearly here to return to Bangor. On Wednesday we will pack up the car and drive up to North Wales, then unpack the car and spend the rest of the day organising my new room. Fun :/ I still have my reservations about the coming year, mainly concerning the new house. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s that I prefer where we were last year, and I don’t want to be disappointed. I’m sure once I’ve settled in it’ll be fine.

Before I go, I want to complete the posts that have summed up my summer. I had the chance last week to go through a huge box of Grandma’s photos, taking photos of those I want to include in my family book. But whilst there, I decided to look through for the costumes we found. The first ones I found were the wedding dress. As in, Grandma’s wedding dress. I didn’t previously show me trying on this dress as I wanted it shown alongside it being worn originally. 

She married Albert Gideon Woodfield on 3rd October 1953 in Whiteley Village. She made her dress herself, especially for the occasion. It fits me like a glove. The coronet I am wearing is the same one she wore in 1953. The only differences are that the sleeves have been taken out, and the lacy neckline changed. I guess it’s not often you can say you have a wedding dress before an occasion to wear it!

The second outfit was worn by Grandma as Myra Arundel in Hay Fever, May 1972, performed by the St Philip’s Players. I think she wears it better than I do 😛 I look a bit like Alice from the Vicar of Dibley!

Next on my trip down Memory Lane (for Grandma, at least!) is an outfit we have, but I didn’t try on because it was a tad too big, as it was worn by my Grandfather, Gideon, in the ‘Siamese Dance’ in ‘Mixed Cocktail’ performed Feb 1957 by the Beckenham Amateur Dramatic Society.

We found the collar and the pants Gideon is wearing in this photo. Very creased, but otherwise perfect. It still amazes me that these things exist!!

These last two photos are ones I tried on and showed before here. The dress I forgot to make a note of what show it was in. The Hiawatha outfit Grandma is still determined that it was never photographed. It IS the same outfit, honest! Haha they must be publicity shots because the show was never actually opened.

Even after all this, there are still pictures outstanding, but I want to leave those for now. Maybe I’ll post them in a bid to remind me of home while I’m away. I have also got a whole load of photos that perfectly show off why I think I should have been born in the 1950s! Everything Grandma seems to have worn in that decade I want to steal 😛 I guess she couldn’t keep everything!

‘Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family.  Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.’  ~Jane Howard 

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old Photos and New Beginnings

  1. WOW! Your Grandma was beautiful on her wedding day- and in all the photos- absolutely stunning! The wedding dress really suits you too, Liza 🙂

  2. yeeeeed says:

    Lovely collection of photographs! And, you’ll be fine this year, you’ll love your room in no time 🙂 xx

  3. God Nostrils says:

    That wedding dress is gorgeous and looks absolutely amazing on you! And I must say, that last photo of your Grandma in the beige dress looks just like you! 😛 xs

Leave a Reply

