Poetry catch-up :)

It’s been a while since I posted any poetry, so here we are 🙂 A selection of recent poems. Please give me feedback 🙂

The Goodbye

It doesn’t get any easier,
Saying goodbye.
Leaving things that matter,
Far, far behind.
Walking away from smiles,
Leaving what feels like home.
You know you can go back,
But why go away at all?

 The long slow walk,
The quiet lonely trip.
Suddenly alone,
Without those who make you laugh.
Another station,
Another train
Pulls away from where you want to be.

 It doesn’t get any easier,
I really wish it did.
The tickle in the corner of your eye,
The overwhelming heaviness,
The yearning to go back.

 But you can’t.
You know you can’t.
You must wait for another chance.
Maybe next time,
Leaving will be easier.
Maybe next time,
I can smile.

(Written Aug 2011, photos chosen to compliment rather than represent the poetry)

The Darkness

Darkness.
The eternal battle rages.
Fire, combat and strength
All are present inside.

 The swirling mist-
It engulfs and masks.
That only makes it easier
For the enemy to attack.

 Anger, jealousy, rage.
The elements of war.
A perfect mix
Ready to explode.

 Strength.
The only weapon of choice-
Without it, only defeat.
You are strong.

I am stronger.

 I fight the war,
The enemy of darkness.
The mist unfurls.
My heart is strong.

(Written June 2011, once again photos chosen to compliment rather than represent)

‘Breathe-in experience, breathe-out poetry.’ ~ Muriel Rukeyser 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry catch-up :)

  1. Beautiful poetry 🙂 ♥

  2. Kate says:

    I really like The Goodbye…a poem I think lots of people will be able to relate to for varying reasons 🙂

Leave a Reply

