Dressing up an education


Finally I’ve got round to putting up some more of my ‘dressing up’ pictures from Summer. These first three are ballet themed…I felt like Coppelia! The ‘tutu’ is actually a set of frills made by Mum ages ago for a show, that we pinned under the red edged net on the ballet dress. Originally the dress was plain black, but Grandma altered it to look Spanish, I believe!

I wanted to wear pointe shoes with it, but I had a few problems. One, they were in Bangor! And secondly, black or red would have been best, and not the pink that I have! So instead I wore my Irish soft shoes…I think they look appropriate, although I think Mum disagrees 😛 I did wear her ballet shoes for one though, just to try it 😛 I went with the fishnets basically because they were handy and worked for the second theme I wanted to pursue! On a side note…while talking about ballet, it reminded me that I went to a Ballet taster session at dance this week….oh my goodness I had forgotten what a workout it was!! It has been about two years since I did any ballet…and I felt it next day :/ I am going to persevere though, I feel I should build my strength up again.

Anyway…back to dressing up 😛 After being a dancing doll I turned to a cabaret dancer! This involved more frills and high heels 😛 Oh, and cheeky facial expressions 😛 This was so much fun, and so completely not me! However, I love these pictures! Again, I’m sorry they are inside against my ‘wonderful’ dining room wall, but it was cold and rainy outside…plus, we have neighbours who may have been a tad curious/worried/scared! Haha oh well.

I didn’t want to get changed afterwards though 😛 I think it’s probably because I reckon I’ll never get to wear it again! It’s not exactly everyday wear, or even fancy dress!! Dance show maybe? I doubt it though, but we shall see 🙂
Talking of dance…being back in Bangor means lots of dancing!! From next week I should be doing 8 hours a week! Belly Dancing, Ballet, Contemporary, Latin & Ballroom, Irish Soft Shoe and Irish Hard Shoe! Plus, tonight I am going to a Ceilidh 🙂 Compare this with my 4 hours of lectures and 2 hours of seminars a week…I think my time is a little lopsided!! I do have plenty of time for research and reading though…I have so many assignments and essays that are going to need doing before January! I am beginning to think I’m not going to get a Christmas holiday :/ If I’m completely honest, I will be glad when this academic year is over. I am enjoying my course, don’t get me wrong, but I just feel like I’ve studied enough now. This was my initial reason for not going to Uni, and it has finally caught up with me. Hopefully once I’m back in the swing of things properly I’ll feel better about it, but at the moment I’m just going through the motions, waiting for things to be done! Oh well…we shall see!!
‘Education is an admirable thing, but it is well to remember from time to time that nothing worth knowing can be taught.’  ~Oscar Wilde, “The Critic as Artist,” 1890
About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Outfit posts, Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dressing up an education

  1. George Falconer says:

    Do you mind me asking if the clothes featured here were among those that belong to your grandmother and formed a part of her career?

    • Yes they did belong (mostly) to my Grandmother…they were from a trunk of theatrical costumes we found in their house, dating from the 1950s mostly. Most were worn in shows in London, including the London Ballet Circle.

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I love that quote! 😀

Leave a Reply

