Got a lot of catching up to do…

Just a quick catch up on outfits, and life in general 🙂 I am sooo behind with the pictures from Summer! This first one was fairly soon after both Mum and I had a massive sort out of our wardrobes, in preparation for the latest clothes swap (more on that in a minute :P). This blouse was one which Mum was getting rid of, and of course I got first pickings 😛 It is so unbelievably comfy because it is loose and batwing…but also really pretty with the little flowers, and the streaks of silver in it! Didy may have hijacked the picture though…evidently thought that he should be featured too!!

I mentioned the clothes swap…that was on Wednesday afternoon and went really well! There were about 12 of us who came…some with more than others! But it worked, because some (like me) wanted to get rid of stuff, others wanted a new wardrobe due to a lack of clothes! I will say though, there was a HUGE pile of clothes to go to the charity shop left over at the end! So to those at Coed Y Castell who now have to clear it all :/

This outfit was kinda pre-planned, in as much as it occurred to me before going to sleep one evening. I had wanted to wear this dress since I bought it, but it was fairly summery, and I was unsure as to whether the paleness of it would suit me. However, I think the ruffled top and bright flowers counteract it enough. The belt was from a previous clothes swap, the sandals are Tesco, and the jacket is my old suit jacket from sixth form (Debenhams, I think). I love how my hair perfectly matches the purple leaves in this picture 😛

I love these shoes. Unfortunately I have only worn them three times since buying them from Dorothy Perkins last summer. The reason for this? The first time I wore them they shredded the back of my heels and left my feet in a really bad way, after only about 15 minutes! Therefore I was scared to wear them again, but couldn’t bear to part with them! However, during my wardrobe sort I came across them again and decided to give them one more chance. Mum had some heel grips/pads that filled out the heel part of the shoe to stop it rubbing. So far so good! I wore them all day and had no problems whatsoever! The rest of the outfit – Jeans from TKMaxx, dress originally Miss Selfridge but charity shopped, and belt is a tie off a top!

Another thing that I discovered over Summer was a love for gloves. Not the woolly sort, but the retro sort. They are so feminine and dress up any vintage looking outfit. I now have about 5 pairs of gloves…long and short, various colours. I don’t wear them that often, as I don’t think they really work with shorts 😛 This pair I bought from a charity shop recently for £1.99. They are so pretty, with meshed backs, little bows and coming just to the wrist bone. I can’t wait for the opportunity to wear my long black evening gloves!! The rest of the outfit – Dress charity shopped, belt from Grandma, necklace pinned to dress from last clothes swap, shoes TKMaxx.

Lastly…this relates to the recent car boot I went to. This shirt was actually the most expensive thing I bought all day, at £2!! I love car boots, especially with the prices being charged in charity shops at the moment! I nearly had a heart attack in Bangor last week…dresses for £6, a trilby for £8 (the same price as it was new!!) and even books were rare below £2! I know that doesn’t sound overly much when the same sorts of things are a lot more in places like Topshop (somewhere I never shop, for that very reason!), but these places get the stuff for free! Why are they being so greedy?! Not all charity shops are like this…there is one in Oswestry that is so reasonable I can’t go in there without buying anything!! Anyway, rant over…the rest of the outfit consists of: Charity shopped shorts and brogues, belt and necklace from Mum 🙂

Buying something on sale is a very special feeling.  In fact, the less I pay for something, the more it is worth to me.  I have a dress that I paid so little for that I am afraid to wear it.  I could spill something on it, and then how would I replace it for that amount of money?’  ~Rita Rudner

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Got a lot of catching up to do…

  1. God Nostrils says:

    I have yet to find any charity shops here in Lausanne, which actually may be a good thing as I always spend too much at them! I justify it with the fact that things are more expensive in real shops and therefore I’ve found a bargain, but then I just end up with more clothes and actually having spent more money than I would have buying a few things in real shops 😛

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I love the flowery dress, you look beautiful in it! I remember the pain of those shoes, so glad you can now wear them, as they are lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

