A Poem begins with a lump in the throat…

Due to bad weather and the lack of a tripod (yes, I forgot to get one from home :P) I haven’t got many outfits to show at the moment, so I thought I’d share some more poetry ๐Ÿ™‚ I really like to hear your opinions on my poems, good or bad, so please tell me what you think!! Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

A Song says it all…

There’s a song we both know,
I know all the words.
It holds a bold message,
It strikes to my heart.

Every word that she says
Seems to say how I feel.
From the pain in her heart
To the future she sees.

I used not to think it,
I used to be selfish;
That I was the most important.
Now I am changed.

I am happy for you
If you are happy in life.
I hate to see you sad.
One day that’ll be me too.

The song we both know
Runs though my head most days.
I listen to it, believe it
And I hope you know what I mean.
(Written Sept 2011)

The Emptiness Inside

Somewhere deep inside
Is an emptiness.
I know not where,
I know not why,
But I know for sure it is there.

In times on my own,
Reading a book,
Maybe collecting my thoughts,
It surfaces.
It makes me feel alone.

I know I am surrounded.
There are friends all around.
But at that moment
Nothing matters.
Only darkness engulfs me.

I used never to shed a tear,
Would be amazed if I did.
Now, hardly a day passes.
I can’t quite say why,
But it always feels real.

That sense of loneliness,
It’s overwhelming.
As if part of me is missing.
I used to treasure ‘me time’,
Now it crushes.

The emptiness deep inside,
One day will go
As quickly as it came.
A constant feeling in my heart
Of being complete.
(Written at the end of Sept 2011, feeling a bit homesick I think!)

I have to just say, when I wrote that second poem, there was a lot going on, with it being my first full week back in Bangor. Now that I have been home for a weekend, and things have settled down, this sounds like it relates to a completely different person. Hopefully, I won’t go back to that place!

‘Poetry should… should strike the reader as a wording of his own highest thoughts, and appear almost a remembrance.’ ย ~John Keats
(Quote in title by Robert Frost)

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Poem begins with a lump in the throat…

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I’m so pleased you no longer feel like you did when you wrote The Emptiness Inside – as moving as the poem is, I prefer a happy Liza ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

