Window with a view

Window Seat

 Huddled in my window,
Surrounded either side.
The cold pane to my left,
The soft curtain to my right.

 The atmosphere is calming,
But strangely so.
A world removed
From that of my room inside.

 The wind whips through the window casing,
Finding a way to cool my cheek.
The seagulls call overhead,
Reminding me I’m by the sea.

 In the distance,
The gentle hum of Sunday traffic
And from the church next door,
The soaring notes of service.

 The sound of my paper is deafening.
The scratch of my pen annoys.
The worlds outside and inside
Are forgotten for now.

 That calm has a strange effect,
Difficult to explain.
It’s as powerful as silence,
Yet as deafening as din.

 I stare at the sky;
The fluffy white clouds,
And the floating birds.
And I relax in my own little haven.

(Written Sept 2011)

I love my window seat in my new uni room. I can close the curtains and shut myself away, read a good book, and watch the world go past. I feel safe, and that nothing can get to me. I can switch off from everything else and immerse myself in another world. I sat and read Jane Eyre there…it was purely coincidental that she starts the book sitting in the window, reading in the library 🙂 Recently, I haven’t been sitting here though – I have been using it as a storage area :/ It’s a shame, but necessary. Plus, as the temperature drops, sitting next to cold glass gets less appealing!

‘Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.’  ~Charles W. Eliot

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and Prose, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Window with a view

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I think this has to be my favourite poem you’ve written – don’t know why really, it just really appeals 😀

Leave a Reply

