Don’t stop dancing!

Yesterday, Dance held Taster Sessions for Healthy Living Week – Bollywood, Dance Hall, Belly Dancing and Irish. Then, we had Latin & Ballroom and Dance Flavas. I may have done all of them…:P I hadn’t really appreciated how much this would seem a bad idea next day. 5 hours of pretty much solid dancing really takes its toll! Oh well, I’d better try and keep moving as I have two hours of Irish tonight!!

The sessions were good though. Bollywood required a lot of coordination…precise hands, quick changes in hand movements and positions, moving at the same time…this all equals a bit of a muddle initially! I did get there though…and really enjoyed it! Probably because there were elements of Belly Dancing in it, and I like the music πŸ˜› Dance Hall was something I had never heard of before…turns out to be a mix of Hip Hop, Reggae and ‘booty-shaking’! πŸ˜› I can’t say it really suits my dance style…I could do the movements (more or less) but don’t think I really have the ‘attitude’ for it! It’s a really good workout though…and possibly the reason I am so achy today! The Dance Flavas class later on was a continuation of this taster session. Belly Dancing was my turn to teach πŸ˜› Amazingly enough, this was the best populated taster session! Not necessarily a good thing. But everyone picked it up really well, and the dance looked good. It would have helped if I could remember my own choreography though πŸ˜› I think there might be a few new people joining the class on Monday night, which would be great!! And lastly, Irish. All of four of us :/ Not great, but we had fun learning the light jig. I like Irish anyway though, so probably biased!

Latin & Ballroom was fairly good. The Cha Cha is coming on really well, and I think people are enjoying it πŸ™‚ It certainly looked pretty good by the end of the class! Quickstep is taking a bit longer, but it is the advanced class, and I know I certainly find Ballroom harder than Latin anyway! I’m sure we’ll get there πŸ™‚ By the time I’d done Flavas after this, I was fairly tired. I also hadn’t properly eaten since 1pm (it was now 7pm) and body rolls on an empty stomach is not good :/ I was so relieved to get home, especially as I got caught in a hail shower! Although, actually, I wasn’t really bothered about getting wet…was quite refreshing, and there is something about a rain shower that makes me contemplative. I was in a very good mood yesterday evening πŸ™‚ Once I’d sat down, though, I didn’t want to get up again πŸ˜› Not a good sign!

I did write a poem when I got back…but I think I’ll leave that for another post, as there is already a lot of text here. I will just share some pictures though πŸ˜› I tend to collect inspirational and pretty pictures when procrastinating from work! These are just some of the vast collection on my laptop πŸ˜›

I love the colours and angle in the Irish picture…it works really well πŸ™‚

This ballet picture, although added to, represents a certain freedom that dance allows. This is how I feel when I dance…even though I still can’t do pointe work 😦 I can’t explain exactly what about this photo really speaks to me…but I find it so inspirational.

Tribal Belly Dance. Need I say more? πŸ˜› Dancers like Rachel Brice and Sharon Kihara are amazing! I love the style of dancing, the flexibility and control it requires, and of course the costumes. I am even more in love with it after the workshop I did over Summer!! Hopefully I’ll get another chance to try it soon, and also I am aiming to try and teach a tribal inspired piece next semester.

This again invokes freedom and happiness. The fact it is by the sea makes it even more beautiful. I love the look of ballet like this…just wish I could make it look so lovely. I think that’s probably one of the reasons I took Ballet back up this year…I just can’t let it go after dancing for so many years!!

‘There are short-cuts to happiness, and dancing is one of them.’ Β ~Vicki Baum

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t stop dancing!

  1. I’d like to see the poem- I love writing about dancing- I think because it’s so freeing and varying it’s very easy to write about dance in an abstract sense and your poems are often written as metaphor πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Then & Now | A Wish is a Rainbow

Leave a Reply

