Smiles and souls

I’m sure you’ll be glad to hear that my mood has improved since my last post! I have got a meeting with my module coordinator in which to discuss my problems with my dissertation, so hopefully that should be sorted soon 🙂 I also had a really good weekend. A mix of shopping and Conwy Feast-ing…always good to take your mind off things for a bit. I think that I found the cure for third year at Uni! Haha good food and bargains 🙂

Today we had our boiler fixed, so we don’t have to fiddle with the water pressure every time we want a shower! Always helpful. It should also stop dripping into our toaster. I was a tad worried about the safety of that! Also had a fun filled hour playing pool, then a pretty interesting lecture, and finishing off with two hours of dance! Hopefully tomorrow will be just as good 🙂

I just thought I’d share the dance poem I mentioned last week as there seemed an interest in it 🙂 As usual, I love to hear your feedback, both positive and negative 🙂

Freedom and completeness

So many times I am left feeling empty,
Like nothing can make me feel complete.
A huge gap inside of me
Waiting for something.
Anything.

 I wonder what it could be
That would fill the aching hole.
I have my ideas
I have my concerns
But I won’t know ‘til it’s there.

 Today I discovered the remedy
And it wasn’t what I had expected.
I had thought it would involve people;
Maybe an individual
Maybe an event,
But it was none of these.

 It was dance.
When I dance, I feel complete.
I feel so free
Like nothing can possibly hold me back.
My dreams are possible.

 Even when I struggle
Or when it doesn’t suit
Dancing can make me relax.
I am myself
Wholly and truly.
I am free to believe in myself.

 So many times I’ve feel empty;
Loneliness of sorts.
A deep yearning for something I didn’t know.
Today I filled that gap
Not from something new,
But something I’ve fallen back on
Throughout my entire life.

(Written Oct 2011)

(photos top to bottom: An Evening of the Arts (March 2011); Summer Dance Show (May 2011); taken over Summer in my back garden; one of my Grandma’s photos)

‘Talk about dance?  Dance is not something to talk about.  Dance is to dance.’  ~Peter Saint James

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Poetry and Prose, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smiles and souls

  1. yeeeeed says:

    Brilliant poem – the way it starts off relatively somber and gloomy…and ends on a high note, thanks to dance! 😀

    Super end quote too 🙂

  2. Potato says:

    =) Glad things are getting okay Lizziebeth!

Leave a Reply

