The Sound of Music

As I mentioned previously, I feel there is a huge influence of music in my life. Nothing majorly life-changing, but just a selection of songs and specific lyrics that I relate to, tunes that make me smile, and songs that I can work to. I am most definitely the sort of person that has to have music playing whilst working on an assignment or reading an article. Surprisingly I don’t find it difficult to concentrate on the text even with words in the background, in fact I find it harder without any background noise! As soon as I get up at Uni, the radio gets switched on – Heart FM every time 😛 Except Sundays…then it’s Elaine Paige’s show tunes for two hours! Haha ‘such a brilliant taste in music’, I hear you cry! Not. But seriously, I listen to a very varied mixture of music. I love songs from the musicals, Eurovision, 90s pop and chart music; to name a few. Each type I listen to for different reasons.

Am I the only one who really relates to certain songs or individual lyrics? I find myself listening out for things that mean something to me. When I first got Lenka’s first album, nearly every song seemed to have one or two lines that I really liked…so much so they were written on tiny post-its dotted round my room in first year! ‘You always know the way to turn my frown upside down’ (Knock Knock); ‘Gimme a break, a little escape
I am so tired of being me.’ (Anything I’m not – more pertinent recently I think!); ‘I can’t forget you when you’re gone, you’re like a song that goes around in my head.’ (Like A Song).
There were probably more, but these are the ones that stick out.

As I write this, Adele’s ‘Someone Like You’ plays on the radio. What a coincidence, as that was one of the songs that prompted me to write this post. Ever since I first heard it, something clicked with me. I love Adele’s music anyway – she sings with such emotion in her voice, and it is very soulful – but this particular song seems overly pertinent. ‘Never mind, I’ll find someone like you. I wish nothing but the best for you too.’ I’m not going into the details, but it has taken a long time for this to be true. Sometimes I feel a song can say exactly what you want to say.

On a more cheerful note, slightly, there are always songs that I like purely because I can sing along to them 😛 This is something I have always complained about with much chart music – you can’t hear the words! It can be the catchiest of tunes, but there is no fun in humming and ‘lalala-ing’ along to something. I like to be able to hear the words, and then sing along to it. Ok, I’m no singer, I know that! Plus, I find most female artists sing stupidly high…not helpful! But even saying that there are songs they play on Heart FM that I know all the words to – ‘Jar of Hearts’; ‘Someone Like You’; most of Bruno Mars’ songs…to name a few!

One last song I love is ‘Wherever You Will Go’ by Charlene Soraia. I first heard it on the recent Twinings advert, and considering my love of tea, it seems quite apt that I love the song too! Every time I hear it now – on the radio, music channel or the advert itself – I immediately think of tea 🙂 I know Kate will appreciate this 😛 It is just such a beautiful song.

So, what songs can you relate to? Do you listen to music to relax, to cheer up or to fill the background silence? Are there certain lyrics that stand out?

‘Music is what feelings sound like.’  ~Author Unknown

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sound of Music

  1. God Nostrils says:

    I relate to this so much! Our music tastes seem to be very similar, and I completely agree with your point that lyrics are the most important thing in a song. I love a song with good lyrics, and I refuse to listen to music I don’t agree with (Rihanna for example, I absolutely hate). I love singing along with music, whether it’s Kate Rusby, Jack Johnson, or S Club 7 😛 I always have to have music on too, I have a specific ‘Work’ playlist of quieter songs that won’t put me off, though I have yet to perfect the skill of listening to English music whilst reading French articles!

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I think you already know I have a very similar taste in music! 😛 I too love ‘Wherever You Will Go’ by Charlene Soraia, especially considering it is now going to be forever associated with tea 😀 Oh and I adore Elaine Paige too…and the predictable nature of Heart FM 😛
    As for me, I listen to music to cheer me up, or to have a good cry too. I always find that the lyrics to Word of God Speak keep me going when I’m feeling down:
    “I’m finding myself in the midst of You
    Beyond the music, beyond the noise
    All that I need is to be with You
    And in the quiet hear Your voice”
    I find that certain songs remind me of certain situations, Champagne Supernova by Oasis will always remind me of being discharged from hospital, Me and My Shadow (by whoever sings it!) will reminds me of Mum and I singing in the car for a long, long time and Hey Jude by The Beatles will remind me of the first time I drove the car on my own!
    Oh and anything by Ludovico Einaudi helps me get work done!

    • Yay 🙂 That section of Word of God Speak sounds lovely….can see why it keeps you going 🙂 I didn’t even get to mention the songs that remind me of things! haha I have a long list of those too! Maybe another day 🙂

  3. great blog!!! following yopu now… visit you blog for my international christmasd giveaway!!!

    http://voguelyvan.blogspot.com/

    kisses!!!!

Leave a Reply

