Long skirts and polka dots :D

After the wordy posts of last week, I think some outfit pictures are due 🙂 Most are from a couple of weeks ago, because being at home means boring outfits, covered in dog hair. Nice.

Ok, so this first picture isn’t exactly an ‘outfit’…but I wanted to show the skirt and scarves I put together for Belly Dancing one night. It has a bit of a ‘Mrs Weasley’ feel to it, in my opinion! Haha maybe that’s just me though 😛 The skirt is from the clothes swap…it is a bit big, but it has a tie waist so that’s ok 🙂 Plus, with everything else over the top, you can’t see that it’s rolled and tied!

The scarves are ones I have collected, mainly from Mum, over the past couple of years. I got the idea of tying them all and wrapping them round like a belt, from many of the tribal style belly dancers. I like it, because it gives volume to my hips and accentuates the movement (note to all the slim belly dance girls 😛 ). Also, it adds movement to the skirt itself.

Outfit Number 2 is slightly more preppy. This blouse is one of my favourite buys from over summer. I really wanted a pussy cat bow blouse, and then found this in a charity shop – slightly more expensive than my usual charity buys, but I kinda fell in love with it 😛 Polka dots, silk, turquoise, bow neckline…what more could I want? 😛 The rest of the outfit consists of my Primark pinafore dress and suit jacket from Next. I was actually way too hot in this outfit…initially I had my chunky cardi on instead of the jacket, but I boiled! I think maybe I’ll wear it again now it’s much colder.

I have just noticed an increase in dark colours…winter must be approaching! Even so, I usually gravitate towards bright colours…maybe a change in taste? We shall see as the seasons continue to change. This skirt is from H&M’s recent sale…very good recent sale 🙂 I paid ÂŁ3 for this, and ÂŁ1 for a pair of navy satin-y shorts…saving myself something like ÂŁ27! I was fairly impressed with that! The skirt itself is slightly too long and tends to either drag on the floor and get wet, or get tangled round my ankles/boots. These brown boots were especially bad as the buckles tend to catch on everything!

This aside, it is a really comfy skirt, and most definitely worth ÂŁ3!!

Rest of the outfit – top (actually very short dress) and cardigan both clothes swapped, necklace from Grandma, crochet scarf/belt also swapped!

Lastly, another belly dance outfit 🙂 Sorry about the orange tinge to this photo…still getting used to the new camera! I had to take loads of pictures just to try and reduce the orangey-ness! It didn’t really work, except in close up.

The top/dress is charity shopped; necklace as above; chiffon skirt from Mum; beaded belt from a car boot; silver hip belt is actually four necklaces from Boohoo, connected together. It comes out differently every time I wear it! 

I also wore my cosy cardigan to walk back and forth, as well as a hoody I think! The temperatures in Bangor are most definitely falling! :/

I realise I still haven’t shown you my Halloween costume from nearly two weeks ago! That is mainly because the photos I took are from when I got back, and my hair had ‘dropped’ :/ I was hoping to get hold of a couple of photos taken by other people, but haven’t come across any yet! (general plea/hint :P) At some point I’ll put up what I took though, as some pics are better than no pics!!!

‘In the hopes of reaching the moon men fail to see the flowers that blossom at their feet.’  ~Albert Schweitzer

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Outfit posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long skirts and polka dots :D

  1. yeeeeed says:

    You know I love the pussy cat bow blouse – and I commented on how much I liked the outfit at the time, that still stands.

    I love the quote!

Leave a Reply

