Satin, swishes and fur :P

Thank you for your lovely comments on my last post…I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one feeling like that! Hopefully we will are sort through the tough times and be stronger because of it, with amazing friends standing alongside us 🙂

Anyway…I mentioned that over reading week I had a rummage through Mum’s dressing up box in the loft. I was initially looking for something for the Moulin Rouge night I had on Tuesday just gone, but then generally was going ‘oo’ and ‘ahh’ all over the place 😛 This first outfit was for the Moulin Rouge night…I didn’t end up wearing it though 😛 I’ll show that another day 😛 The teddy is from Mum, the waspie was Grandma’s, as were the fishnets, shoes and corsage are actually mine – surprise surprise 😛 I just felt it wasn’t quite right – the top looked weird and wasn’t ‘safe’, if you know what I mean 😛

This was a dance costume of Mum’s from her Old Time Dance competition days (about my age, maybe a bit younger :P). Funnily enough, as with everything else, it fits me 😛 I love the skirt part…..so swishy and pretty and sparkly 😀 I felt like a Russian Gypsy Princess Fairy 😛 Hehe

Well, what can I say?! This has NOT been added to my ever increasing pile of costumes and dressing up stuff. It has gone back in the trunk in the loft. But I couldn’t resist trying it on 😛 It was a bit small for me actually…Mum can’t help being short 😛 Hehe only kidding. Don’t know how she danced in it though! I felt like I should be in Cats…and I did actually want to watch the film afterwards! Shame we still don’t know where it is 😛

I actually adore this jumper. It is soooooo comfy, like a duvet 🙂 It is actually supposed to be worn the other way – this is the lining – but a polar bear really doesn’t live up to bright colours! Haha I am so predictable! We have this because my Dad wore it in a carnival (Tweedle Dum in Alice in Wonderland 😛 – the same one I was a dormouse!). Now it is most definitely mine 🙂

Lastly….me with red hair 😛 It is the most voluminous wig ever….impossible to deal with, but an amazing colour!! Not entirely sure it suits me, but might just be because it is unfamiliar 🙂

‘I know not what the future holds, but I know who holds the future.’  ~Author Unknown

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Outfit posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Satin, swishes and fur :P

  1. Bex says:

    You should wear the red wig for Ariel in under the sea 🙂 Love the costumes though! The cat ones awesome 😛 xxx

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I want/need that duvet jumper! 😛
    I love your Mum’s Old Time Dance costume, it really suits you. I’d have felt exactly the same in the catsuit, it is very much like the ones they wear in the musical. Everybody should have a dressing up box like your family does!!

  3. Rosalind says:

    What an amazing hoard of dressing up items. Sounds like your family are rather like mine in keeping hold of interesting things. Thank goodness. You have a real treasure trove here.

Leave a Reply

