Memories Part 2 :)

So here is part 2 of my trip down memory lane. I have now left Bellan House, age 9ish about to start at the ‘big school’ in Year 5. This was called the Lower School…I was in L3HCM to begin with, then L4JE which became 6JE halfway through the year as Oswestry School caught up with the state schools! This photo however is from the summer between schools – the Millenium Play, Sandcastles we did at the Attfield. I had a non-speaking role as a child who needed the toilet. Classy 😛 Was good fun though 🙂 Both Mum and Grandma were in Sandcastles too…Mum is on my right, and Grandma is on the little boy’s left 🙂 The two lines that I will always remember from this play are – ‘I don’t like nuts’ and ‘It fell off!’. They don’t really have the same effect unless you saw it, I don’t think 😛

Skip forward to 2003, and our family holiday to America 🙂 I think this is where my obsession with Stitch started! You know there are the meet and greets with the characters? Well, I was pretty much the only one in the queue to meet Lilo and Stitch, plus was about 5/6 years older than most of them, so the characters decided to have a bit of fun. Stitch was messing up my hair (not that it was ever that tidy anyway :P), and they were making jokes etc! At least it got me smiling naturally! Haha was good fun though. The whole holiday was amazing actually…we did 4/5 parks in two weeks, in two different resorts in Florida. I spent way too much on beanies too! I loved the flea markets though…so many amazing things!

2006…such a wonderful picture 😛 This is why I don’t like pictures of me between about 9 and 15! This must be about Year 10. Didy looks so cute…it’s before he went grey! Bless him 🙂 I loved that jumper so much…my Aunty knitted it for me, along with a matching fluffy cushion…the height of fashion! Haha I do still have it, but it is reserved for PJs now 😛 I can’t believe how long my hair was then! So different from how it is now! Was impossible to deal with though.

Summer 2007, just before starting sixth form. We went on holiday to Jausiers, in France, near to the Italian border. It was so beautiful – very quiet, lots of mountains, not too hot, high ropes ‘jungle park’ just down the road, beautiful mountain dog that I spent a lot of time making a fuss of….:P This picture was taken on a walk through the mountains. We walked through a meadow, which was absolutely covered in beautiful butterflies! They just rested on the path all round us, and were really tame! They were even landing on us if we stayed still!! Really lovely 🙂

End of Year 11! It was amazing how much I didn’t want that year to end. Many of my close friends were leaving, and I didn’t want to become ‘sixth form’. Too much responsibility 😛 I love this picture of me and Olga, taken in our last Business Studies lesson. It’s a shame that I don’t get to talk to her that often, and haven’t seen her since October 2007, when Andy and I went to see her in Moscow!

Speech Day 2007. Actual end of Year 11, and such a beautifully caught moment! This was in response to Giles Brandreth’s wonderful guest speech. It was the school’s 600th Anniversary year, and so they had managed to get a ‘name’ to be the guest speaker, and really they couldn’t have got anyone better! he had us all in stitches from the very beginning, plus who could deny that the opportunity to shake the hand that had shaken the hand than had shaken the paw of Winnie the Pooh (or something like that :P)! Haha brilliant end to Year 11 🙂

‘She glances at the photo, and the pilot light of memory flickers in her eyes.’  ~Frank Deford

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories Part 2 :)

  1. yeeeeed says:

    Lovely picture of year 11 speech day, captures the emotions perfectly. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Sixth Form days… | A Wish is a Rainbow

Leave a Reply

