The witching hour

Well, nearly a month on, I guess I should show you my Halloween costume! I’m not particularly pleased with the pictures I have, but make the best of a bad job I guess!

I guess balancing my camera on the radiator when I got back at about half 11pm wasn’t the best way to get a good photo, but needs must 😛 Somewhere there are photos from the night itself floating about….but they still haven’t materialised, so I’ve given them up for lost! The outfit itself is a cobble together of lots of other random things. First, my black chiffon skirt – I threaded a plaited belt through the buttonhole and pinned it by the button to make a shoulder strap. This made the ‘dress’ assymetrical and floaty straight up and down. I then folded over my green and black jersey skirt, making it just above knee length, securing with my elastic belt. This gave me lots of fabric, almost like a tutu 😛 I pinned a brooch of gold wings to the shoulder of the dress…it was a present from a ballet friend a few years ago. Tights – I don’t have any proper green tights, so I wore teal with my black fishnets over the top, with black brogues, because I was having to walk up the hill 😛 Heels may have looked better, but my feet came first 😛

I have to say though, the biggest task of this outfit was my hair. I wanted to backcomb it, to give it volume and make it a bit scary. However, I do not have a comb in Bangor. My hair is too short to use a brush (same length as width of brush :P) , and using just my fingers really wasn’t working. Then I found something in my makeup bag – an eyebrow/eyelash comb! Yes, it is only about an inch long, if that….yes it was a bit ambitious….yes I persevered 😛 I think it looked pretty awesome…but had sunk by the time I got back and got a picture! I used a stretchy comb hairband to keep the majority back, then backcombed the rest. Make-up wise – green, gold and black….nothing overly amazing, but I was fairly happy with it 🙂 I’ve been doing more with my make-up recently, and have been pleasantly surprised! I never thought ‘smoky eyes’ suited me, or dark, heavy, eyelined eyes….but recently I have been experimenting. I think it’s the influence of belly dancing 😛

‘Tis now the very witching time of night,
When churchyards yawn and hell itself breathes out
Contagion to this world.’ ~William Shakespeare

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Outfit posts, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The witching hour

  1. yeeeeed says:

    Oh I like it – it looks really good and understated. For somebody who hates Halloween, this is a big compliment 😛

  2. Potato says:

    Oh my, I love your eyes. The colours are lovely!

  3. Jobey1Kenobi says:

    the eyeliner actually does suit you, i think it’s a matter of playing round with lots of different styles (even ones you’re not sure will suit you) as that’s where you surprise yourself.
    i rarely bother with makeup these days but i recently tried an arabic look, just for a laugh, and quite liked it so i might use it at parties or something 🙂

Leave a Reply

