Dance First. Think Later.

Just a few photos and thoughts about the BU Dance Xmas Show from last weekend!

First dance for me was Dance Flavas. This combined Bollywood, Dancehall, House and Stepping. Bollywood was fine – it required quite a lot of coordination to move legs and arms simultaneously, but I liked the overall style. However, Dancehall, House and Stepping were slightly more out of my comfort zone! Dancehall is a Reggae/HipHop type dance, House is a fast paced American street dance with fancy footwork and Stepping is a music-less style (think Stomp :P). Let’s just say, the video could be interesting πŸ˜›

This was swiftly followed by Contemporary. So swiftly that it was indeed the next dance πŸ˜› So, trousers off (leggings already underneath) and T-shirt on! We wore slashed leggings for this…it felt so wrong to cut up a perfectly good pair of black leggings :/ The dance itself was to Evanescence’s Bring Me Back to Life. It represented a struggle within ourselves, I think πŸ˜› With so many people in the class, overall it looked very effective! Even if it was difficult to move at times πŸ˜›

Straight into Cha Cha for Latin! Another speedy change πŸ™‚ Shame I had to keep on the holey leggings πŸ˜› This was one of the three dances I was partly responsible for, even if Bex did choreograph most of it πŸ˜› I was the only ‘guy’ part wearing the girls’ costume, but hey, teacher’s prerogative πŸ˜› I wanted to wear this dress right from the beginning of planning for the Cha. This dance went down really well…and all three of us teachers were so proud of our class…there was some quite complicated choreography in the dance! Plus the timing at the end was fairly tricky πŸ˜›

I then had a two dance break before Advanced Ballet. This was good as I had a complete change into a leotard and tights! Not sure how I would have managed that in the wings πŸ˜› I love this photo actually…in the past, all the ballet photos of myself I have hated. Seriously, I look awful. But I love this…I good arabesque line, pointed toes, and I look happy…what more could I want?!Β I just wish my pirouettes were better!Β The dance was Tango inspired, with flicks and the Spanish attitude. This made it quite fun to dance πŸ™‚

After the interval, my first dance was the Quickstep. This was the one I was most worried about, mainly because we had had quite a few issues throughout teaching. However, it more or less came together on the performance, despite being a dancer down on one night! I love the purple skirt I wore though…Swishy and a perfect fit…plus made by Mum πŸ™‚ The one thing I really need to work on with Ballroom though, is my posture. I must remember to lean back, and keep my head in the right position! Would make this photo look so much better!

Fairly quick change (1 dance) into Belly Dancing πŸ™‚ We had put the name of the song in the programme as Bahr Wa Sadaf…so when Under The Sea from The Little Mermaid started playing there was a gasp of surprise πŸ˜› Hehe that was my aim! The Friday night, the audience even called for an encore! Haha I think it went down well overall, and again I am so proud of the girls πŸ™‚

Must say thank you to JFDP Photography for the amazing photo πŸ™‚

Last, but most definitely not least, was Irish! Standing in the middle of the stage with Kasia and Nikki was quite nerve-wracking, especially as the introduction was quite long, but getting the chance to do a section jut the three of us was lovely πŸ™‚ The dance really tired me out – all that jumping – but I still loved it. And the reaction from the audience was amazing, so definitely worth it πŸ™‚ I think our costumes looked brilliant too – everyone in the same dress with the Celtic knots – made it look almost professional πŸ˜›

So ye, a busy show for me! But well worth it πŸ™‚ I loved both performances, even if I was shattered by the end of it! Can’t wait for Summer now πŸ˜› But before then I have a lot of work to do…choreograph one and teach two dances for Belly Dancing, help out with our big idea for Latin & Ballroom, and learn all the other dances I will be doing! That’s in addition to all the work I have to do to get my degree!! But would I change it? Not for the world πŸ™‚

‘There is a bit of insanity in dancing that does everybody a great deal of good.’ Β ~Edwin Denby

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dance First. Think Later.

  1. Potato says:

    Wheeeeeee. Well done. You looked amazing and I’m sure the dances were amazing =D

  2. Kate says:

    I utterly adore the final quote! You were fantastic, no idea how you do it! xx

Leave a Reply

