Packing up and dancing on

It’s a Saturday evening…most students are getting ready to go out, have a few drinks and hit the nightclubs. Or possibly going round to someone’s house for a film night and a nice cup of tea. It’s also the first Saturday of the Easter holidays so many students have already gone home (as is the case in my house). For me…I am sitting in an empty house, with my Latin & Ballroom shoes on, Radio 2 playing songs I’ve not heard and a huge pile of clothes on my bed! I’m going home tomorrow and am midway through packing up as much of my room as possible. Currently, one suitcase is already full, and I have at least another still in piles on the bed, and that’s just clothes :/ I really do have too much stuff! I have no idea where it is all going to go at home…I don’t exactly have a small room, but it IS still fairly full without my Uni room stuff :/ Why am I packing up now? Basically there is a lot of stuff in Bangor that I don’t really need after Easter…winter clothes (hopefully), extra pairs of dance shoes, spare bedding (that doesn’t even go on my bed here!), dress making materials etc…so it makes sense to take that home now. Also, the more I can find homes for now, the more chance I have of actually living in my room over Summer! If I took everything home in one go I wouldn’t be able to move. However, I then have the ‘what if I DO need it?’ problem. I’ll take all this stuff home and then come back in three weeks without something that I later realise would have been useful. I’m not very good at planning a month in advance, especially considering North Wales’ weather, and the fact that I only have two weeks of lectures and 6 deadlines before I finish Uni! So much extra time I might need things for! Oh well, cross that bridge when I get to it ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, as a break from my packing I thought I’d share some recentย performanceย pictures. Sorry for the quality of some of the pictures…it’s difficult to take pictures of movement without the flash! Plus, for some, the lighting was really really bad! This first one is the International Gala 17.02.12 where we performed Dum Tek Tek. There were other performances from the Indian Society, Afro-Caribbean, a Juggler, Hip-Hop, Chinese dances music acts and instrumentals. I showed this costume before…made up of lots of scarves tied to a shoelace ๐Ÿ™‚ Still love that idea ๐Ÿ™‚

03.03.12 brought An Evening of the Arts. We had a slot of three dances…so I started off with a veil solo of Thurayya, danced to Entrance of the Stars from the Belly Dance Superstars Vol. II CD. I went wrong, but that’s the beauty of a solo slot…you can go wrong and no-one knows! I could have improvised the entire thing if I’d wanted to! (Or had the confidence to!). Then we moved onto Under The Sea with veils. This went really well too, despite only having had a very brief rehearsal of it beforehand! Lastly we did our ‘new’ dance Petals. I say new – it is new to Al Bahiyya but is actually one of Al Jamila’s dances from ages ago that I borrowed ๐Ÿ˜› Again, minimal rehearsal, and a few mistakes, but it looked great ๐Ÿ™‚ Costume for this…I wanted to wear my maxi skirt because it was floral for Petals and blue for Under The Sea. I then draped a cotton sarong round a belt and tied that over the skirt. On top of this I tied two folded square scarves so the knots were at my hips. Add a flower garland and a coin belt and the bottom half was sorted ๐Ÿ™‚ However, this presented me with the problem of the top half. The top I had worn for Under The Sea previously was a) at home, and b) too green for the overall look of my bottom half. I don’t have any blue crop tops. I did have a blue scarf. A bit of wrapping and a whole load of safety pins later and I had a crop top! Add a few flowers and bracelets to make it look more complete and I had a complete outfit that was comfortable, practical and pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

Fast forward to 07.03.12 and Clwb Cabaret at the Greek Taverna. We had a 15 minute slot for this, so we made full use of it ๐Ÿ™‚ Started with Under The Sea, but without veils as we were a little pushed for space. Next I did a Tabla solo…more or less all on the same spot, but more controlled movements. Next was Petals with all of four of us – I still managed to whack wrists with someone in the spins! Fourth was Lasha Tumbai – a Eurovision song from a few years ago. This has to be one of the most fun dances I have choreographed…very fast, but great fun! I hadn’t actually performed it since last March for BEDS Have Got Talent! Lastly, Dum Tek Tek as a finale ๐Ÿ™‚ Always goes down well! Costume – I went more ‘cabaret’ for this, so wore the orange and silver costume, but over a red choli top and my tribal underskirt.

13.03.12 Multi-Cultural Night 2 in Academi (the student nightclub). Not only was I dancing Belly Dance (more on that in a minute) I was part of Dance Flavas – revisiting our Christmas Show dance ๐Ÿ™‚ This was more nerve-wracking than any BD performance! Al Bahiyya were the final act to perform…again we did three dances, this time Petals, Lasha Tumbai, Dum Tek Tek. I think we had the most dancers we’ve had for a while…so this was really nice ๐Ÿ™‚ And of course we had a night out together as well as performing! Costume – Indian crop top, Indian silk skirt, black split overskirt, the usual scarves, hipbelts and charms, as well as way too much jewellery ๐Ÿ˜› For once I actually wore shoes to dance…I didn’t trust the nightclub floor! It was a really lovely night, and I stayed for most of it, until I got really tired ๐Ÿ˜› I like this costume too…might actually reuse it! One other thing I noticed about this evening, and Clwb Cabaret…it is so much harder to dance on the same level as your audience, especially as close as they were! Give me a stage any day!

Lastly, Inter-Welsh Dance Competition 17.03.12. This saw Swansea, Aberystwyth and Bangor competing against each other in Ballet, Contemporary, Jazz, Tap, Irish, Street, Break Battle and Open Category. I was competing in Irish Soft Shoe and Irish Hard Shoe, and then Al Bahiyya had a guest performance. Soft shoe went amazingly well…we won! Weell done again to everyone, and our choreographer Simi ๐Ÿ™‚ I love this photo…brilliant action shot! Hard shoe wasn’t quite so great…the audience didn’t realise we had finished as it was quite short. Having seen the video since, we do at least all look like we know what we are doing…but Swansea won the category. Other successes for Bangor were Beginners Jazz winning their category and best costume, Beginners Tap joint winners, and the Break Battle joint winners! After the main competition, there were two guest performances – Popping and Locking, and then us ๐Ÿ™‚ We danced Dum Tek Tek (at request :P)…despite being low on numbers! I may have made an emergency call to someone to get them to come….:P Costume – long blue skirt, then shorted blue and silver skirt, white/silver scarf, hipbelt and charm belt, tacked up red sequin top and lots and lots of jewellery! I wanted to wear some of my Summer Show jewellery to get used to wearing it.ย 

Thanks must go to those who took photos at these events ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so lovely to have a record of all our performances!

Anyway…must get back to the packing…maybe after a cuppa though ๐Ÿ˜› Until I next get round to posting:

โ€œOur deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, โ€˜Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?โ€™ Actually, who are you not to be?โ€ย ~Unknown

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

