The future belongs to those who believe in their dreams

The last time I wrote I was heading home for Easter. Now I am back in Bangor for the final push towards the real world. It’s a rather scary though if I’m honest…I have no idea where the last three years have gone! It seems no time at all since I was filling out those UCAS forms, writing my personal statement and going on Open Days, and yet so much has happened at the same time! I have changed as a person, and have experienced so many new things. I am much more confident, and no longer the outsider. I learnt that usually my biggest critic was myself, rather than my peers, and that being myself gave me the biggest confidence of all. I learnt so many new dance styles and decided once and for all that although Ballet has given me the basics of dance, it really isn’t me. I have discovered the passion for Belly Dance that I always saw in my Mum when I was little, and like to think I have passed that on to my amazing class. I never thought I would even think about teaching a dance class, let alone running my own class for almost two years. If I’m honest, I’m going to really miss it next year. But I think we’ve had a pretty successful time of it πŸ™‚

I’ve been to new places – Conwy, Bishop Aukland, Durham, Lightcliffe, Bangor itself! – and revisited old favourites – Chester Zoo, Wrexham (shopping :P) and Snowdon. I’ve acted like a child playing in the playground, I’ve belly danced with friends at the seaside when we thought no-one was watching, I’ve taken part in a Dance Competition, been a young Otter in Willows and met David Crystal. And I’m the one who never wanted to go to University in the first place!!

I’m so glad I did. πŸ™‚

All that remains now between me and the next big step in my life is two weeks of lectures, a dance show, four deadlines and Graduation. There is also my 21st in July, then my adventure to Brunei in August. What a way to finish off my academic education! I can’t help thinking though – can I just go back to being about 6 again? And stay there? No responsibilities, everyone is a friend, and you can spend all day playing and painting! Actually…the latter of those doesn’t really change πŸ˜› I spend way too much time on my creative hobbies!

But I do have to grow up πŸ˜› In a matter of months School and University will be behind me, and I will need to find a job. Arghhhhhhh!!! Haha.

‘Be yourself, & I promise people will enjoy it; & If they don’t, forget them’ – Mitchell Davis

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The future belongs to those who believe in their dreams

  1. yeeeeed says:

    I’m so glad you came to Bangor! Many, many happy memories to treasure from an amazing three years and many more amazing ones to create as the next chapter begins πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

