The long travelled road to success

Oh wow…it’s been a while! May 13th was my last post, and we had just got back from Lancaster! That seems a lifetime ago now! Since then I’ve finished Uni – no more essays, no more results to get back, and no more time in that damp house. However, it also means no more BU Dance, no more regular Al Bahiyya dancing, no more random day trips to Anglesey, and a lot less time spent with some truly amazing people! I’m going to miss everyone so so much. Especially Al Bahiyya – you guys are amazing and have done me so proud these past two years ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, apart fromย reminiscing, ย there have been some other developments since leaving Bangor! Not a job (I’m not that pro-active :P), not learning to drive either (I shall start….some time….maybe September :P)…not even deciding to move out (that may take a while – sorry Mum :P), but a few nice things that have put me in a brilliant mood! Usually when I write these types of posts I’m complaining about something, or something is on my mind…but this time it’s actually positive. Firstly, I’M GOING TO BRUNEI!!!!!!!! As in, I’ve finally booked my flights, and am having another set of jabs next week. I got my flights about ยฃ200 cheaper than I had expected, all for going on the 8th rather than the 1st of August! That means more spending money ๐Ÿ˜› I am so excited, especially as I’ve been planning this (had it in the back of my mind after an invitation) for over 3 years! So glad I can finally go ๐Ÿ™‚

Next thing…I got my Uni results yesterday! I seemed to be the only one who hadn’t been in or phoned up on Monday when they came out ๐Ÿ˜› Part of me was curious, but part of me didn’t want to know! I had done a rough calculation (badly it turns out) and thought I was going to be on the boundary between a First and a 2:1, and although I’ve always said I would be happy with a 2:1, if it was going to be that close there was going to be disappointment if I missed it. However, when I went to see Nia yesterday it seems I shouldn’t have worried as I am graduating with a definite First ๐Ÿ˜€ So happy and relieved, and of course – proud parents and grandparents! I had promised Grandma that as soon as I knew I would go round and tell them, so as soon as we were back in Deytheur I went and told them the good news. I honestly have never seen them both look so proud ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, my amazing friend Kate is back home after a tough 6 months – I knew you could do it ๐Ÿ™‚ Now we just need to organise a chance to meet up to have a mega catch up and a huge cup of tea ๐Ÿ˜›

I now have stuff to look forward to as well – not only Brunei; but a close friend’s wedding in July, then my birthday, then my birthday BBQ/picnic thingy, Graduation 3 days later, another close friend’s 21st party…all before I set foot on the plane. Only when I get back does the real world finally get a look in ๐Ÿ˜› Although even then there is a trip to Paris in the pipeline! Somewhere in the fairly near future I also want to go and make a visit to Germany, even more so as I was unable to go this week. It’s the one thing that I regret from the past few weeks…not being able to go…but I had (stupidly) got myself so stressed out over booking it and the journey itself that I decided it was not going to be possible. I felt like I was walking through treacle, and I always think that although nothing worth doing is ever easy, it shouldn’t feel impossible. Maybe I wasn’t meant to go just then. Still makes me feel bad about it though! Oh well, nothing I can do about it now!!

I have some outfits and new goodies from Grandma to post, as well as poetry and stories, and also some trips; but they will have to wait for another day! For now though:

‘Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.’ ย ~David Frostย 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The long travelled road to success

  1. yeeeeed says:

    What a lovely positive post – you have lots to smile about, yay! ๐Ÿ˜€ Huge congratulations on your degree result! Way hey, the tickets to Brunei are booked, how exciting, especially when they are less expensive then you had expected!!
    Awww thank you ๐Ÿ˜€ I am touched, you’ve been absolutely amazing the whole time, I’m so grateful to you! ๐Ÿ˜€ You’re a fantastic friend ๐Ÿ™‚
    I adore the quote too! xx

Leave a Reply

