The best years…

I went back to school today. To primary school. They were celebrating having been a part of Oswestry School for 35 years, but to me it will always be Bellan House. Bellan, where I learnt to read with Mrs Renwick. Bellan, where I learnt to talk to my classmates in Mrs Green’s class. Bellan, where I was called a couch potato whilst at home would run up and down the stairs for fun. OK, it wasn’t all positive 😛 But even then, Mrs Hainsworth enhanced my love for languages. But who wouldn’t love watching Muzzy on a rainy afternoon? It was Bellan where I annoyed Mr Durham by writing in pencil and drew in pen, rather than the other way round. I still prefer to draw in pen! And Bellan where I became a prefect, and finally enjoyed dancing on a stage! Thanks to Mrs Durham and Mrs Woolham 🙂 It was a sad day when I had to go up to the ‘big school’.

So back to today, and I didn’t really know what to expect. I kind of knew there wouldn’t be many ex-pupils there…they either were at Uni, working, didn’t know or didn’t care. I thought maybe one or two people I had once called friends might show their faces, but it seems not. Mainly pupils from a few years below me. In fact quite a few in that respect! Never mind though, as I say, I had already expected that. My interest was in seeing all the teachers that had formed my childhood education. And do you know what? They haven’t changed one bit! OK, some have aged a little (unsurprisingly seeing how I left Bellan in 2000!), but even so it was as if time had stood still. There were (almost) all my teachers just as I remembered them. Mrs Renwick from KG1, Mrs Sleigh from KG2 (Ok, she wasn’t actually MY form teacher…but fond memories all the same!), Mr and Mrs Durham (Forms 1D and 2D) and Mrs Woolham (Form 2W). That’s on top of those who are still there! Mrs Green, Mrs Edwards, Mr Birchwood, Mrs Arnold…and all the others I knew for years in that old building. Together, everyone toasted the school, and listened to the current students recite their ESB poetry and just generally reminisced. 

The more I think of Bellan, the more I think of. Taking Beaky home for holidays, the nature box, storytime on the beanbags in KG3H, painting and drawing in the Resi, dinnertimes on the blue plastic folding tables, House points stacking up into prizes (I still have my ballerina teddy bear :P), Swallows and Amazons, prefects and Library duties, the painting of the library and French room, numerous Summer shows, Mrs Dyas’ ballet lessons, sitting on the floor in assembly…the list goes on. And for the most part they were happy memories. Even getting told off for doing cartwheels and handstands in the playground with Josh! It was fun. Some of the best years of my life so far 🙂 Thank you Bellan House.

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

