Confused identities

I wanted to post a piece of prose. Share something I had written, both for feedback and for piece of mind. Curiosity too I guess. However, re-reading what I have not yet posted I felt it was still too soon. I write about my life, even in the smallest of parts, and so therefore I always read what I felt at that time. I know that most likely anyone else would just see a body of prose, with fancy words and stilted sentences. They will imagine their own characters, even possibly see themselves in what they are reading. But to me it’s so real. So for that reason, I shall not be posting any prose writing, at least for a while.

Poetry wise…that’s much the same problem. It used to be my poetry was personal, my prose was experimental. But now, the line is blurred. In many ways I see less of me in my poetry now, possibly because of the ‘form’ of it. It’s less ‘sit and write’ and more structured. I don’t really know, but either way I don’t feel like sharing at the moment.

So what does this leave me with? Outfits? I have What Liza Wore on Facebook for that. I don’t want to just natter on about what I’ve bought and where…I’m really the only one interested in all that. Everyday musings? I don’t think so. I don’t lead a very exciting life, what with spending a huge amount of time online, sorting through my Grandparents’ house (still) and choreographing. Sounds ideal? In some ways yes, but for a blog, not so much. I don’t want to blog for blogging sake. So what else? My inner thoughts? No-one really wants to hear me banging on about this that and the other. I’m in a happier place than I was a few months ago…no longer worried about being jobless (why not enjoy it while I can?!), no longer depressed about not having passed my driving test (everything happens in time, just sometimes in a longer time than hoped for!), and no longer stuck in a rut at home (jewellery making IS a good way to spend the day :P). So that’s those options out of the question…

This leaves me with a dilemma. Do I just leave my blog until I feel more inspired? Or until I feel ready to post my writing? OR…do I keep searching for something that feels more ‘me’ and more natural at this point in my life? I’m not sure at the moment. I did have one idea…I do a Photography Challenge every now and then…and yesterday’s prompt made me think. It was ‘Alone’ and I instantly wanted to write. Not necessarily something that was ‘me’, but just something that meant ‘alone’ to me. I wondered if next month I would use my blog to showcase each day, not just as a photo, but quotes or writing or thoughts on each prompt. It would inspire me to write something more removed. It would make me link my photos to how I see the prompt itself, and it would allow me to come across some little gems of quotes. What do you think? I really do love getting your feedback because you are the ones reading. I do do this for myself, but it is also for people to read, otherwise it would be a diary. So even it’s a smiley face, or a word of advice, I love to hear it 🙂

26.08.13 roadtrip 039

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and Prose, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

