Success, sorting and shimmying!

A quick recap on the last two weeks….

16.09.13 driving test pass 002The big news is that I have passed my driving test! I refused to tell anyone (other than parents) when it was…even down to people I saw that morning. But I wanted to just go and do it, without anyone’s expectations. If I failed, I could avoid telling people because they didn’t know in the first place. However, my concerns were irrelevant because I had a really good drive, with only one minor fault! Which is actually annoying…if only I’d indicated at that tiny residential, one way junction that I always usually over indicate at…oh well! Honestly though, I was really relieved and happy to pass πŸ™‚ It’s only taken 10 months…:P Now to get some experience in Mum’s car, and to further build my confidence.

12.09.13 attfield costumes 001Other than that, it’s been quite quiet. Mum and I have finished (more or less) sorting out the costumes at the Attfield. Everything is now categorised, labelled and folded nicely. I’ve discovered some pet hates I didn’t know I had: Sticky labels on leather suitcases (they ruin the top surface), badly folded trousers (they have sharp folds for a reason) and eyes (Clothes shouldn’t look at you, or have claws). But regardless of this, it’s a good job jobbed πŸ™‚ Now, when someone wants something, the hope is that I can go to the ladies’ dressing room, pull down a box and find what I want. If we have it that is πŸ˜› Hopefully, it will work the other way too…when things come back they will be left (neatly) for me to put away IN THE RIGHT PLACE. Well, I can dream πŸ˜›

18.09.13 vintage 003I’ve been Atodiad sorting again…and can say that the spare room is all but usable! So when they have these hundreds of guests they are obviously expecting, they will have somewhere to sleep πŸ˜› I’m excited, and it’s not even my house! The beds are nearly clear, everything has been looked through and reorganised at least once, and there are no more tea chests in the house! Yay πŸ˜€ We had good fun sorting make up and perfume too…the living room smelt of a fragrance shop, and our hands were covered in lipstick and eyeshadow tests πŸ˜› I have to say, vintage lipsticks are certainly strongly pigmented…!! My idea was to tackle the loft next. Grandma had other ideas πŸ˜› I don’t really mind…in fact it’s nice that she seems keen to sort things out actually! Today we looked through two huge boxes of towels. That’s a lot of towels. In their defence, they did own a guest house…but even so. A lot of towels. Now, a lot less towels! Next job…the first aid box (not as small as it sounds…).

07.09.13 RaqsW 3 010Lastly, dancing news! Two Haflas in the last two weeks. First one over in Wombourne, near Wolverhampton. After a lovely day in Birmingham for the 4 Squares festival for the opening of the library, we headed to Wombourne for a lovely evening jam-packed full of shimmying talent! It really was a brilliant mix of styles, costumes and music, and I really enjoyed it! Not many of my photos came out that well, but the one here is probably my favourite (group is Habibi). 14.09.13 outrageous hafla 002Our performance seemed to go well…Hayley and I danced to ‘Hips Don’t Lie’ by Shakira. It was our first showing of this so I was a little nervous, but I enjoyed dancing it πŸ™‚ My costume held up too…having only finished it a few days previously! The second Hafla this weekend just gone was local to me in Morda. A smaller affair, with a couple of technical issues, but really good fun πŸ™‚ A chance to meet and dance with new people. A chance to dress up as Lady Gaga πŸ˜› Getting to watch Mum dance Difdi πŸ˜› Another lovely chance to dance.

So all in all, a pretty good two weeks! It’s nice to be productive and busy, without being stressed. It’s a good feeling!

‘In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.’ ~ Bill Cosby

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Dancing, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Success, sorting and shimmying!

  1. Good to see you shimmying again! Already miss Al Bahiyya 😦 x

Leave a Reply

