Something Colourful…

And so it begins. October is here, and that means Day 1 of the Photo Challenge being linked to my blog. Let’s see if I can keep going all month!

01.10.13 Something Colourful 002Let’s start with the photo itself. The one which will be on Facebook. A selection of my jewellery on my dressing table/dumping ground for this that and the other! A rainbow crystal owl bangle, some of my GoldyLocks jewellery, lime green (slowly becoming a favourite I think…) to name but a few! To be honest, my room as a whole is pretty colourful! It always has been. My GCSE ‘rainbow’ themed artwork adorns the walls, my collection of TY Beanies still fills the shelves, my overfilled wardrobe bursting with every colour you could imagine, even pink! But why is that? What makes me a colourful person? And why was this prompt so easy for me?

3.11.10 favourite shoes 006Well, partly because I love colour. The vibrancy of it, matching colours together to blend or to clash…it just makes me happy! I think doing WLW really helped me understand colour though. How to dress for ‘crimson’ without just wearing red. How to put together a gradual blend from red through the colours of a rainbow to pink without it looking like stripes. Yes, that’s shallow, but it was fun 😛 I still love to wear colour, but I do tend to tone it down a bit now. Grandma has a rule of ‘never more than three main colours’ and I see her point. Black with white and red is really striking, but can be really classy too. Even going more for something like purple, yellow and raspberry can work! I love playing with colour 🙂

01.10.13 Something Colourful 005Stepping away from clothes and jewellery for a moment…I am surrounded by colour elsewhere as well. As I said before, my walls have rainbow artwork from my GCSE on them. My keyring used to be a rainbow scoobidoo thing I made (until it broke). I have brightly coloured mugs, chopsticks, cutlery and tea towels from Uni. I love flowers, and how they are all so subtly different colours, even on the same plant. There is also the long standing DISLIKE of a certain colour. In clothing, jewellery, stationery etc…I will always avoid pink. I’ve never been a pink person, even when I was little. I will now tolerate it, and even had a dance costume of pink, black and silver at the weekend, but it’s really not me. But that is still an example of how colour influences me. In short, the things that make my life colourful, make my life mine. So, ‘something colourful’…I was spoilt for choice. My whole life is colourful, and hopefully it will remain that way for a long time to come!

‘Colour is a human need like water and fire. It is a raw material indispensable to life.’ ~ Fernand Leger

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

