In Motion

Day 4…and my first pause. I had an idea for my photo…then struggled to get it to work. Now I know why it’s said ‘never work with animals or children’!! Didy just looked at me like ‘You want me to FETCH?! Ha! You go get it…’. All I wanted was him running towards me, but he just sat on my feet instead. So I gave up on that idea.

Luckily, when Mum came home I was able to try again. One calling, one taking the photo. I also tried a slightly different idea…jumping! I knew I had to time it right, preferably first time because the dog was hardly likely to agree to do it twice. He’s getting a bit rusty these days, so jumping onto my parents’ bed is a bit of an effort. OK, a lot of an effort! Luckily my timing was fine, and I think the result is not too bad!

04.10.13 in motion 002

 

As for posting something WITH it on here…I’m a bit stuck. Other than explaining my difficulty taking the photo, there isn’t much to say. I’m not good at taking photos of moving things (dance shows, animals, scenery out of a moving vehicle…) so I’m generally quite happy with this. BUT, I can see lots of things I could improve. Background for example. It’s too dark, and too busy. If he was against a plain background, or outside where it’s all green, maybe it would look neater. Be more impressive. Also, the blur is uneven. If it’s going to have motion blur, have motion blur. If not, it has to be sharp. This half and half makes it look badly timed. Which maybe it is. I’m no expert. Any advice on how to improve this at all?? I’m still impressed I caught it first time though 😛

‘Everything is in motion. Everything flows. Everything is vibrating.’ ~ William Hazlitt

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

