Afternoon

Ran out of time to write anything yesterday…by the time I got round to posting my photo on Facebook it was time to start cooking dinner before heading out to the theatre, followed by the after-party. So I didn’t get home until gone midnight….not the time to be turning on the laptop to make coherent ramblings 😛

05.10.13 afternoon 002I was still feeling a bit under the weather from this cold I managed to pick up in Bangor (thank you Freshers :P), so I had a nice relaxing afternoon in front of the TV. Started with the F1 qualifying, then watched the Gymnastics World Championships. I love watching gymnastics…so much strength mixed with grace and poise! Especially the floor routines, women’s asymmetrical bars and pummel-horse! Whilst watching that I was drawing, and that’s what I used for my photo today. Only half finished at the time, but I took it while I remembered to be honest!

04.10.13 meI did later finish the drawing, but I’m not overly happy with it. I guess for three hours work it’s fine, but I know I can do better. The perspective is all wrong – the bust and bra is too small and squashed, the belly button is in the wrong place (I realised this almost as soon as I drew it, but there’s no going back with pen :/) and the hips are too big for the rest of the picture. The actual ‘drawing’ style is absolutely fine….I like the shading I’ve done, and the detail, especially on the bra! But the overall shape annoys me. But then, I know I’m a perfectionist with my own work, and I know drawing people is my weakness. That’s why I practice.

So, all in all, a lovely relaxed afternoon. Just what I needed before a busy evening selling tickets and programmes at the theatre, serving tea in the interval, doing the washing up, and then trying (and failing) at being sociable afterwards! I really do struggle with situations like that. I envy people who can walk into a room of people you barely know and just join in conversations. I stand awkwardly at the edges of groups, trying to join in, but not really achieving it. I then go and sit somewhere waiting for someone to come talk to me. But I always feel so useless at it! In a quiet setting, with 4 or 5 people, I’m OK. If I’ve been involved in the production, it’s fine. But otherwise, I get so intimidated and feel so lost that I just clam up. So much so that when someone DOES come to chat, I lose the ability to have a conversation! Wonderful. Anyway, I got sidetracked. I think I just needed to voice it. I’ll just sit and think about my afternoon instead 🙂

‘If you can spend a perfectly useless afternoon in a perfectly useless manner, you have learned how to live.’ ~ Lin Yutang

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

