Pink

As most of my friends (and hopefully my family :P) know…I do not like pink. That’s not to say I won’t have/wear/touch etc anything pink…it’s just that I prefer not to. I DO wear pink, I even made a pink and lime green dress once (yet to be worn) and one of my favourite vintage dresses is pink and grey. But I’m not a ‘pink person’. I think I mentioned this at the start of the month for ‘colourful’…so I won’t go over board. But even as a baby I wasn’t happy with pink. Trust me to want to challenge the stereotypes…:P

09.10.13 pink 004Anyway! Photo…this was a present I made for my Dad a couple of Fathers’ Days ago. We had a family joke about pigs (I won’t go into detail) and they got called ‘oinks’. So, I made Dad an Oink. Basically it is a multi-pink pompom with felt feet, eyes and ears, with a bit of coloured pipe cleaner for a tail. I think it’s cute 😛 I first made pompom characters in sixth form for a Christmas Fair. I enrolled the help of some friends and we made loads and loads of different coloured and sized pompoms, then I gave most of them faces and feet and a personality! We even made heart shaped ones, with arms, saying ‘Give someone a Hug this Christmas!’. They sold really well! Well, the Business Studies A Level paid off…..:P But I guess, as with every creative skill I take on, I got bored. Then I stopped.

15.10.11 kates teapot 001Then about three years later I start again! I made a teapot for Kate, for example. That was fun. I had an idea, and went with it, and rather liked the results 😛 Might make myself one if I ever have somewhere to put it! But then, since that and the ‘oink’ I’ve not made anymore. Maybe I should go back to it…see how creative I can be (Nisah….how did you make the spotty one?!). Maybe some more creatures, maybe another teapot, a Golden Snitch perhaps! Hmmm ideas, ideas…..:P (Also, just realised that the teapot is predominantly pink as well….interesting!)

“I’ll eat rabbit pellets before you get me into something pink with ruffles.” ~ Deb Baker, Murder Passes the Buck

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

