Favourite Space

03.06.13 summer at powis 072

Powis Castle Gardens are beautiful. The formal gardens are so sculptured, and colourful. Wonderful views of the castle, and topiary always neat. But it’s the wilderness I love. It’s quieter there, as many people don’t want to walk along rough tracks that could be muddy, or don’t see the appeal of the trees. But that’s WHY I like it. The rhododendron bushes surround you, the trees tower over you. Squirrels scurry across the path, pheasants rustle through the undergrowth, and the little birds sing from the branches. I feel safe there. Safe to sit and think. To take photos. To enjoy nature. I’ve been visiting Powis Castle since I was about 10 years old, and during the nicer weather would always head to the gardens. I would sit on the Giant’s foot. I would read the pets’ gravestones. I would try and find the plunge pool, and I would peer into the ice house. As a small child the trees seemed huge. It was a wonderland, where I could get lost, but know my way round. I knew all the little paths and would zigzag back and forth for hours. As I got older, my enjoyment changed. I appreciated the flowers more. I learnt to be quiet so that the animals weren’t so scared.  I found the best benches, the interesting gnarled branches, the prettiest panoramas. Now I see the changing landscape. How the foliage changes from month to month. I can always find something new to photograph. And I still feel at home there. It’s my second garden. There will always be room in my heart for the Wilderness.

‘I don’t like formal gardens. I like wild nature. It’s just the wilderness instinct in me, I guess.’ ~ Walt Disney

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

