First World Problems

What are ‘First World Problems’? According to one source – ‘Problems from living in a wealthy, industrialized nation that third worlders would probably roll their eyes at.’ And I pretty much agree with that. We so often complain about things that actually are NOT the end of the world. Someone in a less well off country would be amazed to hear complaints that something was ‘sold out’ or a bit damaged. They would just be grateful to HAVE it. Ok, I’m over-generalizing somewhat, but it is true, nonetheless.

For example, recent event. Selling programmes, member of the public buys one. Looks at it and says ‘can I have a non-creased one please?’. ‘What’s the problem with that?’ I hear you cry. Well, on subsequent inspection, said programme was hardly ‘creased’, more had a very slight thumb mark where it had been picked up off the pile. The customer is of course entitled to have the programme they want, after all, they are paying for it….but it did make me a little bit surprised!

Another experience was only this morning. Internet. We take it for granted in the UK. It is such a big part of our everyday life that when it doesn’t work, it’s like the world stops. OK, again, exaggeration, but you get my point. Last night I was happily chatting online when suddenly the page refreshed and said ‘you are not connected to the Internet’. Well, that’s funny, I thought. I was a minute ago and I haven’t done anything differently. Strange. So I repaired the connection. Nothing. I was at a loss what to do! Turn off the laptop and leave it, disappearing from my conversation; or try and sort it out when I was pretty tired and everyone else was already in bed? (I went with option a) by the way.) This morning, I expected it to have sorted itself out, but alas no. Still no connection. As much as I know that was the sign to GO DO SOMETHING it felt annoying not having the option. First World Problem right there. (I did get it sorted eventually….the router had somehow done a backflip off the dresser and dislodged its cables sufficiently that the wireless wouldn’t work. After some climbing and rearranging the problem was solved.)

Lastly, I was doing some pointe work today, in preparation for a performance on Saturday and couldn’t get my shoes comfortable. However I tried, my toes felt cramped and uncomfortable. Then I stopped and thought, there are probably some people in the world who would do ANYTHING for a simple pair of footwear, and there’s me complaining that POINTE SHOES are uncomfortable! Of course they are uncomfortable…they make you able to stand on your toes. They’re hardly going to be like slippers are they?! And I don’t have to wear them. I don’t have to put myself through it, to dance on my toes. I can walk and dance without having to go on tippy toes. I have that choice. That’s why this is my photo for today. (Showing the outside prettiness, and the inside padding and creases :P)

17.10.13 first world problem 010

 

‘All the problems of the world could be settled if people were only willing to think. The trouble is that people very often resort to all sorts of devices in order not to think, because thinking is such hard work.’ ~ Thomas J Watson Sr

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

