Then & Now

October 2009 – Started What Liza Wore.

October 2010 – Finished What Liza Wore.

October 2011 – Experienced highs with dance, and lows with my dissertation.

October 2012 – I rediscovered my blog and went to Paris.

October 2013 – First solo drive and Belly Dancing!

21. Then and NowAnd this brings me to my photo today. Admittedly,  neither picture was taken by, or taken today….BUT….I did put them together today. I also had no other inspiration, and seeing how I’ve been doing so much dancing recently, it seemed apt!

The first photo was taken at Ludlow Fringe Festival in about 1996? I look about 5 or 6…:P My costume (which I still have, of course :P) is a little silver crop top, and a skirt made from pastel chiffons on a silver elastic belt. I didn’t really know the dances, and couldn’t really do many of the moves….and was as shy as anything…BUT…still got up to have a go. I was dressed up so I was determined to join in. As long as I could hide behind ‘Mummy’ most of the time. I think I’m lucky I wasn’t tripped over or trodden on! I certainly got in the way.

So that was the ‘then’. As for ‘now’…I guess my costume hasn’t changed overly much! I’ve still got the silver sparkly top, albeit a bra not a stretchy crop top. There’s still a lot of volume in my skirt, but in darker and stronger colours. I still have silver sparkly jangly bits on my hipbelt. My hair even looks similar (crazy considering the different colours/styles/lengths it’s been!). However, what I hope has changed is my dancing! I now know the dances for a start! I also think I know how to actually do the moves. I’ve been choreographing, teaching and performing for about 3 years…and I think it’s made me a better dancer. How much changes in about 16 years!!!

“The difference is that was then, this is now.” ~ S.E. Hinton, That Was Then, This is Now

 

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

